Masaibu ya Kisumu

more of a dam than a lake

Ara! What happened?

the fact is that People from central who you claimed are hardworking and would have been better at fishing tried and failed. I gave you lake naivasha as a lake closer to central people but you would never find those hardworking central guys there

Loresho, runda was once a coffee farm and same to most parts of Kiambu but what are they now?
the only reason coffee is transported under armed escort is due to the rampant theft which is prevalent in central and not because they love their crops so much otherwise even cabbages from kinangop would be transported under armed escort evidence ni hii hapa

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2014/02/13/coffee-theft-in-nyeri-factory_c895604
http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/nyeri/Explain-coffee-theft-Nyeri/1954190-3377716-fo4nr8/index.html
http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/nyeri/coffee-theft--Nyeri-factory/1954190-3429538-srnqta/index.html
http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/nyeri/Nyeri-coffee-theft/1954190-3059700-gbmtmx/index.html
https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2016/nov/29/kenya-coffee-theft-organised-cartels-blame-farmers
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000216248/coffee-theft-puzzle-as-farmers-point-fingers-at-sector-cartels

You claim Luos are River lake Nilotes hence their main activity should be fishing, this is why I claim you are really ignorant and should do your research properly. even our forefathers before the coming of the white man were not always fishermen, fishing had seasons, during planting seasons fishing was banned and people tended to their crops same way currently there are some months where the government bans fishing.
People who live around the lake fish and they work so hard while at it but the fish stock there is low so low that there are turf wars just to control the fishing areas, my own cousin was killed in one last year by members of a different group who claimed he was fishing in their turf, if fish was in plenty do you think there would be such turf wars? Overfishing has resulted to dwindling stock in the lake, the government has tried by specifying the recommended net sizes but still fishermen the fish caught is less, I have relatives who work in that industry and it’s not always rossy as you think. Introduction of Nile perch also led to the disappearance of lots of indigenous fish, go talk to any old mzee who from huko and he will tell you about fish from the 40’s and 50’s which disappeared because of the introduction of Nile perch to the lake. speaking of Nile perch they lay their eggs in shallow waters next to the shores and these get caught easily meaning their species too are in danger.

with all these should one keep relying on fishing and remain poor or move to a different economic activity? ama you thik those guys enjoy staying in the cold with little returns?

lakini wewe na your propaganda wisdom will never see such because it was indoctrinated in you that Luo’s are lazy and don’t know how to utilise the lake

so many water projects, quarrying

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000228584/region-s-economy-under-threat-as-central-kenya-s-lake-ol-bolossat-faces-extinction

I am amazed that I am learning about it now. Interestingly it is facing extinction from over exploitation, land grabbing and farming around the area. I am wiser now…asante.

Oh no! Too bad.

I did not say Luo’s are lazy. I challenge you to show me where I said or implied that. I did not even say that Kikuyu’s are hard working. Everybody everywhere likes the easy life.
In that same vein, you pointed out many links about theft of coffee and that is why it is guarded. Of course it is my brother. You don’t hear of honey suckers under guard because what they are transporting has almost no value.
Coffee is like gold. Since I have some substantial interests in its transportation I can tell you that you have one heavily armed cop in the cabin and maybe two in a follow car. Dry coffee is worth millions. Okay.
Like I said I did not call Luo’s lazy. I said that the leadership and maybe the populace do not care about their resources. Mainly the leadership. But then again, despite how many times the leadership disappoints the people in Luo Nyanza they do not bother to seek change.
The hyacinth machine was purchased and apparently it was waiting for more than one month to be launched by the then governor. I don’t know whether that happened.
People cleaning vehicles in the lake, the effects of soap that are toxic to fish.
Basically the body that is supposed to improve tghe quality, the technology, the policies around fishing is dead asleep.
Where are the Cooperatives, Saccos like we have in coffee and tea. No dedicated efforts to improve the quality of fishing as a industry and economic activity in Nyanza. I am sorry about your Cousin.

the incompetent Kisumu Governor was sent home, let’s give Nyongo time and see how he will work

so it’s not only Kisumu people ruining their lake by washing their cars inside there? Wengine wao is facing extinction

Some of the comments on this thread seem to suggest that Lake Victoria is a Luo resource, far be it from the truth, it is not only a national resource that national government should do everything to protect but also a source of livelihood for the River Nile basis all the way from Jinja in Uganda to Alexandria in Egypt. One of the largest sugarcane plantations in Africa is substantially fed by the water of the Nile from the lake. The countries directly benefiting from the lake can be made to take the responsibility of rehabilitating the lake by way of finding means of taming the water hyacinth and general pollution.

Just like I said. From over exploitation. People pumping to much water to their farms without thinking of the future. Same happens in Nyeri and a small river called the black river (rui ruiru) in my shags.
Illegal pumps along the river kills the water levels.

Have you seen the Ugandan side of Lake Victoria? Nothing like what’s on our side, I was in Kakira yesterday went to the beach and I must say it looks pristine, we could do better on our side fighting pollution.

and last I heard, twaz on the way to extinction.