Media blackout

In Kisum earlier

[B][8/11, 10:38 PM] +254 715 326557: Guys ni kubaya huku

[8/11, 10:39 PM] +254 715 326557: Obama estate, saik

[8/11, 10:39 PM] +254 722 396568: What’s happening ?

[8/11, 10:40 PM] +254 715 326557: Shops are being broken, wanaingia kwa nyumba za watu

[8/11, 10:40 PM] +254 710 756478: For real??

[8/11, 10:41 PM] +254 715 326557: Bana, wako 2nd floor, am going off…If any case sijareply by 00.00hrs call the police

[8/11, 10:43 PM] +254 710 756478: Turn off all lights

[8/11, 10:43 PM] +254 715 326557: Done, nimezima adi stima

[8/11, 10:45 PM] +254 710 756478: Bora umefunga all hatches the worst they could do is break your glass panes

[8/11, 10:56 PM] +254 715 326557: Wameshindwa kuvunja yangu wako next door but mmoja namuona kwa dirisha akijaribu kuchungulia ndani, he can’t see anything

[8/11, 10:57 PM] +254 715 326557: Wa dirisha gone, my neighbor ametolewa
She is a kikuyu

[8/11, 10:57 PM] +254 728 586995: Levy si useme uko wapi exactly

[8/11, 10:57 PM] +254 728 586995: Tutatuma askari

[8/11, 10:58 PM] +254 715 326557: Obama estate

[8/11, 10:58 PM] +254 715 326557: Wanashuka

[8/11, 11:00 PM] +254 715 326557: Wametoka nje ya plot but they have my neighbor

[8/11, 11:02 PM] +254 710 324618: What has happened to her??

[8/11, 11:02 PM] +254 715 326557: Sijui, wameenda na yeye

[8/11, 11:03 PM] +254 715 326557: Na mtoi, mtoi analia kwa nyumba…nangoja 10 min nikamchukue

[8/11, 11:05 PM] +254 780 203608: Take the kid

[8/11, 11:05 PM] +254 705 983828: Acha mtoi alie kiasi atalala. Its not safe kutoka nje. Chill kwanza

[8/11, 11:06 PM] Chris: Levy ashachukua mtoi

[8/11, 11:13 PM] +254 715 326557: Mtoi safe, mama amesaidiwa na Gsu but amekatwa mkono

[8/11, 11:16 PM] +254 715 326557: Vidole zote za left zimekatwa[/B]

I said here that the media should also have given a blackout to the celebrations but talkers took issue. Simple give a blackout to celebrations and protests and foster peace. Celebrations can escalate demonstrations, Our media never learn…

Media blackout on the violent demonstrations going on is good, retaliatory attacks can be avoided.

Kuna shida kubwa sana hapa!..
1 raila is using our people to cause unrest so that he can get a leverage

1. Raila has no voice or he has no other option left saa hizi coz njia zote zime isha sasa njia ime baki niku cause chaos so that watu wamskize…
11 Likes

Anatafuta nusu mkate kwa nguvu… Too bad innocent people will get caught in the middle.

Can this be verified, ama labda ni propaganda ina enezwa

True by the same extension you can black-out overt celebrations like those that were clearly anti-NASA. No need to goad an opposition that has lost bitterly.

He is failing big time

You can never appease someone bent on causing trouble.We heard the same argument about the display of provisional results.Carrying out any process in the dark would have most people believe that something fishy was cooking.I was worried about the same thing happening had baba won.

True. But people bent on causing trouble are always looking for reasons to drag others into the fracas under the guise of “us against them”. Just don’t give them the reasons and deal with them firmly. Streaming live celebrations straight to their TV screens advances their cause.

Media blackout yet social media is awake?
The only way to effect media blackout is to shutdown both print and electranic transmission services, including social media. Otherwise a blackout on mainstream media will not be that effective.

Many reports of Kyuks being killed coming through on social media.

Baba doesn’t communicate via social media, those that get info from social media are too smart to participate in deadly violence. TV and radio are the major media channels in Kenya. And I bet people were following the elections in Kondele via TV and not twitter. Heck! even I was following chebukati on NTV before I was taken live to KICC, Gatundu and Eldoret for celebrations

The best way to deal with trouble makers is to have the majority on your side, and you can only achieve this by being open.Believe me if that ceremony had not been televised, all manner of rumours would be floating around.If knowledgeble people have refused to see the facts, there is not much you can do about the ignorant masses who go by what their leders say.Nasa did a good job to suggest more transparency in IEBC activities.Without those changes, half the country would be supporting them by now.

And later the violence would be blamed on lack of factual information to the masses.Baba may not go unscathed this time round.The world has witnessed the entire process.

Sure I agree those changes were completely helpful and because of them we are having a more transparent election. It’s constitutional and okay to air the announcement of the winner and granting the certificates. But airing of jubillee supporters dancing in KICC, Eldoret and Gatundu was in bad taste especially considering the frustrations of NASA supporters were hardly being aired. That alone wouldn’t have stopped the demonstration but would have reduced the firewood for inciters.

Just air the ceremony and issuance of certificates but not the dances, over-the-top celebrations and Nasa-directed taunts at the KICC.

Maybe it could have throttled the hard feelings to some degree.

Exactly, and even more importantly, it would have prevented the media from appearing as biased because it certainly does. I understand the importance of preventing NASA from spreading false inflammatory information but I can’t see why it is necessary to air jubilee supporters celebrations over an emotive issue.

Here is the thing, these protests are not aired on TV. How do they spread the information to each other? Your guess is as good as mine.
Considering all media was shut down, including cellular blocks, how would people in Kisumu know those in Kondele are protesting, and get castigated to do the same?
Even international journalists would not know whether there are any chaos
Shutting down media as a whole after the announcement would have been a great deal good.