Nakumatt employees stole Sh1 million a day

Theft doesn’t happen at the shop floor level. It’s a game played during the procurement process. Also Kenyans are not aware that the points they earn from shopping are also stolen.

Boss tafuta pesa ya kupigana na cholesterol kama ulikula hiyo kitu.
I can guess you already have erectile dysfunction issues

I read somewhere Quickmart is Nakumatt reincarnate

Carrefour faced challenges in Belgium in 2018 leading to massive layoffs of staff, it was during the same period they were aggressively entering the Kenyan market. Businesses come and go, it’s only a lucky few that survive.

Even giants like Barclays exited Kenya because returns were not worth the effort.

The era in which nakumatt was expanding everything else was expanding… I hope you were alive and not still in high school or primary hiyo wakati…
There was positive vibes to the economy and everybody was milking those vibes with very optimistic business plans… Banks were also hawking cheap loans, banae, hadi kwa streets and offices… Construction was booming…

There was enough money to be made to focus on the leakages…

True,Nakumatt had hired/leased almost everything pale ndani including cash tills and computers.They had no real assets that the suppliers could take for security to recover their goods.

I heard their are very aloof with their systems… but remember the same talent that worked for the local franchises na wakaziangusha are the same ones probably working there… and doing their thing and practicing their talents:D:D:D… The cheaper the goods, the more likely the wages are also lower, leading to staff desperation, etc etc, if you catch my drift…

Si ni juzi tuu tuliskia kesi moja ikitangazwa ya wizi huko na staff?..

1. Uchumi
  2. Tuskys
  3. Ukwala/Choppies
  4. Naivas - hadi wapate investor juzi akawaokolea
  5. Ebrahims

ni gani sijataja hapo?.. wachana na the new boys in the hood wenye bado hawajakipitia…

Nakumatt was a fraud all through. When they first wanted to list on the NSE everyone who saw their books new this was a humongous fraud.

Uchumi was run by thugs. Tuskys was inherited by idiots. Ukwala is not Choppies, Choppies attempted to buy them. Naivas sijui, Ebrahims as far as I know is well run. What has any of this got to do with Nakumatt which was a huge lie all along?

Okay, let’s say Harun Mwau used Nakumatt to launder drug and trafficking money. Obviously, the people who helped him do that took a small percentage to facilitate the money laundering scheme.

How is it possible that after all those years, Nakumatt couldn’t make a good profit without relying on money laundering?

Does that mean that supermarkets in Kenya can barely make any clean money profits?

When you concentrate on Nakumatt it could be easy to make that conclusion. But when you additionally look at Carrefour which pays suppliers significantly less… no you can’t make that conclusion. Nakumatt was a big lie.

Who said Nakumatt wasn’t making profit? Owners wa Nakumatt hawajai complain siku ata moja. Hawajai shtaki mtu kortini juu ya wizi. izi story mingi ni story za watu wa magazeti. Owners wa Nakumatt ndo waliloot Nakumatt wakitumia companies zao za Mauritius. Atul Shah na Watoto wake ndo wako na io pesa mnasema Nakumatt inadaiwa, billions. Haikupotea. Lakini suppliers hawapati ata sumni.

Supermarkets make profits, but Atul realised he could make much more akitomba suppliers na landlords.

And why are you trying to entrap people with exact names and exact circumstances? People out here busy discussing Harun Kamau and you want to bring innocent Harun Mwau into it.

Nakumatt employees used to cut deals kwa parking lot. Stock warehouse employees would come to the parking with TVs in their cars and some employees inside the Nakumatt shop would tell the customers that they can get the exact SONY TV for 30K instead of this one on the shelf going for 50K, Exact everything.

Cash theft was also facilitated by the crooked employees who would unplug the barcode scanners and disconnect the power to the cash register while the cash trays had not snapped shut. Then one would pick about 10K while the guy at the CCTV control room unplugs the camera focused on tht teller for about 3 minutes, the teller would drop the 10K in the dustbin under the desk for later retrieval as trash.

In the warehouse ndio wizi ulikuwa mwingi, hiyo ya cashiers Ksh 10K was petty cash. Deals za warehouse sometimes zilikua za Canter mzima ya Toilet paper ama Bar soaps. Suppliers wengi wamepata depression with one demanding Ksh 150M in unpaid invoices.

And that is the perfect set-up for a laundryshop, you can upscale and downscale at minimal costs and pretty fast, it all depends on how much needs cleaning.

Nope… He was sanctioned by the US and that time Atul was looking for strategic investors. Mwau had to exit as no investor from a sane country would sit on the same board with a drug dealer

US targeted Mwau over Sh6b drugs | Nation

If you gave bonobos Walmart tomorrow, they’d run it down in less than 3 years.

Yea dealing with fraud meant improving working conditions and you know most rich Kenyans espeicially Wahindi would rather close their companies than pay people well.

Closure of charterhouse bank (washing machine)was the downfall of nakumatt.
We used to buy akohol chini ya maji hapo Ronald ngala branch… blessed be the employees wherever the are.