Nobody Will Ever Answer This Question Satisfactorily

We have too many obstacles that hinder growth. Permits upon permits. Levies upon levies.

There are very many people whose entrepreneurial dreams have been shuttered by red-tape.

Question is what have you done in your 30+ years. bonobos must start pointing fingers at themselves first.

How was China backward when they had already created and tested nuclear weapons? when they had already sent a satellite to space, when they were manufacturing military weapons, cars, tractors and others. Or did i forget…maybe Kenya was also manufacturing this?

1. (Protectionist) Bureaucratic redtape and non tariff barriers have ensured only a few people actually do anything meaningful. Yaani, hata simple permit ya value addition, you pay through the nose.
  2. Bretton Woods institutions (think forcing down Mitumba and other wastes from Europe and the West on Africans)
  3. Mistrust. SERIOUS mistrust. For example, how many African countries contribute to the AU? How many contributed to African Development Bank at inception? Hatuamini whatever we produce. Except some juakali things…for instance, quality ya kerosene stoves ni poor compared to za 2000s kurudi nyuma (mathe bado ako na ya 1998, mini nilibuy ya 2017)
  4. We never had proper blueprint for industrialisation (I believe so)

Bidco is still producing and employing people. Hizi hadithi za government sijui zinatoka wapi ?

It’s no brainer. While whites, Asians think about the next 50-100years, Africans by design are incapable of seeing or planning beyond the next harvest. Who remembers vision 2030? Uhuru has even forgotten what the big four was all about.

China has even a spacecraft headed for Mars

colonialists never really left Africa,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwQEXRTNOQE

I was shocked to learn that france never tested any nuclear weapons on it’s soil, they did in Algeria, .
unless africans gets real independence, and begin to believe in ourselves, we’ll continue being a dumping ground. the Brits left on their own terms so that they can have a market for their stuff, they’ll not give that up easily ,same with the French, try manufacturing mwone zile restrictions zitawekwa especially exporting to Europe.

Few people agree that Africans have an inherent hindrance and their lack of development has nothing to do with colonization, environment, leadership, infrastructure, or any other external element.
Our cultural orientation is different and it would only take persons with a different perspective of life to change us. Our leaderships are just a reflection of us, let us not blame them.

Africans have a really laid back personality. I wouldn’t even call it laziness, maybe ignorance plus lack of foresight and ambition. People don’t even know what they can achieve.

Ona hawa waizi wote mamlakani, you think they would do something ambitious with all the money they steal instead they just keep it in the bank to be degraded by inflation.

Tech transfer was a precondition for accessing their market. Western companies made their money and the chinkus got the knowhow they wanted.
Africa kama inataka kwenda route ya discovery mahali Europe ilianzia 300 hundred years ago, we are free to take that direction .

very true.
A good number of billionaires, both legal and illegal choose to play it safe with their investment. They will buy land, invest in real estate or agriculture oriented industry.
They are not “bright” enough to venture into manufacturing from scratch. if we get a few billionaires in Africa who will try develop unique products from Africa, then we can move to the next step. Otherwise, we will be waiting for the others to develop so that we can buy.
By now we should have several brands of vehicles, motor bikes, TVs, mobile phones, laptops, etc that are 100% African. Sio mambo na assembling.

We could create such blueprints. Unfortunately, our culture ,education system and government s system does not favor innovation. Innovation have to be intentionally included in our plans. There’s nothing difficult to manufacture in the modern world.

Europe is literally divided along tribal lines.

Hii yote ni kelele. Even basic, everyday things overwhelm a bonobo’s cognition. Kuna mtu alishare clip hapa ya mtu ya boda boda akiepuka kifo mara kama mia moja, yet he was on the correct side of the road. Complete, utter indiscipline. How will we achieve the lofty things mentioned in this thread if even basic things we cannot do. And they are many, too many to list here. You visit developed countries and notice they have it right from the bottom upwards.

Surely.

No country has ever developed without deliberate government support. The state plays a very huge role.

You can’t wake up one day and start making cars hata kama wewe ni billionaire.

-Steel utatoa wapi?

-How long does it take to get your raw material and finished product to and from the port?

-what about taxes on your raw materials and finished products to make you competitive?

-where will your cheap, reliable power coming from?

-Is the government policy predictable such that you can make 5 10 year business decisions and projections?

-Is the local market protected so that you don’t compete with cheap imports and provide a captive market?

-Your supply chain. Where are your suppliers located and what incentives are they getting from the government?

-You will need highly qualified employees. What is the quality of technical education in the country.? Does the government emphasize more on STEM?

As you can see, countries don’t just industrialize because a few billionaires want but because of deliberate state policy.

African problems are deep n require in depth analysis n proper study.
They can not be exhaustively discussed on this platform

Our poverty has got to do with some inborn trait. Africans don’t have self drive. Have to be pushed around. IQ is also averagely low than in other races this is a fact.

The day Kenya will stop exporting raw coffee and importing processed coffee, or similar in Nigeria with oil

Almost a third of Kenyan billionaires are in senior government positions or are well connected to the decision makers. The government are people and we see them making things easy when they have an interest.
My point is all the countries in Africa can’t give the same excuse for over 50 years.