Only 10 Rwandans against Paul Kagame's third term, says lawmakers' report

Really? Am that daft? Let me check again.

“Only 10 Rwandans against Paul Kagame’s third term, says lawmakers’ report”

These 10 si wafanywe Ambassadors so that they live outside Rwanda untill Kagame Exits ??.

Win win for everyone.

Nincompoops right there

This is what is called “changing the rules in the middle of the game”

stability and economic growth versus democracy Libya style; take your pick

The big question should be whether democracy in Africa should be a copy paste of democracy in other ‘western’ countries. If for example the people of Rwanda on their own volition decide to give Kagame another term, is there anything wrong with that? Isn’t democracy about the will of the majority? Tough questions.

Angela Dorothea Merkel
[a] (née Kasner; born 17 July 1954) is a German politician and a former research scientist who has been the leader of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) since 2000 and the Chancellor of Germany since[SIZE=5] 2005.[/SIZE] She is the first woman to hold either office,[5] and in the latter office she is referred to in German as Kanzlerin, the feminine form of Kanzler (‘Chancellor’).Following the 2005 federal election, she was appointed Germany’s first female Chancellor at the head of a grand coalition consisting of her own CDU party, its Bavarian sister party, the Christian Social Union (CSU), and the Social Democratic Party of Germany(SPD). In the[SIZE=5] [/SIZE][B][SIZE=5][U]2009[/U] [/SIZE][/B]federal election, the CDU obtained the largest share of the vote, and Merkel was able to form a coalition government with the support of the CSU, and the Free Democratic Party (FDP).[6] At the [B][SIZE=5][U]2013[/U][/SIZE][/B] federal election, Merkel led the CDU/CSU to a landslide victory with 41.5% of the vote and formed a second grand coalition with the SPD, after the FDP lost all of its representation in the Bundestag.[7]

3 Terms??? Tuendelee

This ‘majority’ means what? It can be anything given that the guy is a tutsi and Hutus have more numbers like 70% of the population. Don’t take everything at face value.

Majority here means those in support of Kagame’s bid for a third term. Get it?

Yeah sure. But don’t buy into the idea that most Rwandans do that because they love him; they do it because they fear what he is capable of if he is not in power.

Of course there is the fear that the next leader would not hold the country together in the same way Kagame has done. For most Rwandese, Kagame is the only person who’s capable of maintaining the peace, tranquility and stability witnessed in the country. He has also managed to put the country on the path to development. However, the fallacy of that approach is that any slight opposition is muzzled and people who could lead the country would be in fear of coming out publicly coz they’ll be labelled ‘enemies of the people.’

Exactly the same time on my mind. We need to have African Democracy…not the western type. Kama watu walikubali kagame aendele wacha aendelee tu

I think they fear the unknown. Most people fear change to the unknown

Most of the people who have an opposing view are either in Jail, threathened, in exile or dead even his former close associates…nothing like fear of the unknown

There is a big difference between a parliamentary and a presidential system…in a parliamentary system the PM is usually the leader of the majority coalition in parliament…term limits apply on a presidential system where the president is elected directly by universal suffrage

So there should be term limits for presidents and no term limits for prime minsters? :eek:

Sijui vile nikujibu…nishaeleza hapo juu

I understand the difference between a parliamentary system and a presidential system. What I find hard to understand is the assumption that term limits should only apply in a presidential system but not in a parliamentary system. Are you aware that there are parliamentary systems where the PM is elected by popular vote?

Eg…its generally accepeted principle that a parliamentary system us more fluid and a coalition can be dissolved at any point in time leading to an election even within a year unlike in a presidential system where a candidate runs for a full term unless there is a vote of no confidence which are rare

Let’s agree to disagree.