Police choppers

Hehehe, it aint that hard. Its just knowing the different functions

I really donā€™t know but its not a must we buy all in one financial year, if we 1 each every year as it costs Kshs 900 million each. However the two older Mi-17 police choppers have been completely refurbished and modernized in Czech. They arrive this month. In total Police will have 5 choppers all in good working conditions and standby for orders.

http://www.the-star.co.ke/sites/default/files/styles/full_content/public/articles/2016/04/04/1324764.jpg?itok=VEe4Mdhk

Hii ni ya VIP. Ya mwananchi itafanywa hivi

[ATTACH=full]37202[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]37205[/ATTACH]

Al shabab, this is your chance to try something so that you can be taught a lesson in rapid deployment and neutralisation

I hate to inject politics in such a somber discussion, but Uhuruto are doing what no gava has done for this country for a long, long time.

They have almost doubled the sizeof the police force, hired 3,000 police vehicles, bought new choppers and repaired old ones, got armoured cars for police etc etc. AND THATā€™S JUST FOR THE POLICE.

Meanwhile, from across the ridge, all I can hear is howling from IT.

muungano uko imara. nani anasema unasambaratika, hn hn?

Pengine haukunielewa. I said the howling is from IT.

They are just finishing on the manifesto 1 by 1 because they will be judged by it.
http://jamhurimagazine.com/thumbnail.php?file=Jubilees_Security_657614273.jpg&size=article_large

Iā€™m sorry to say but these modernisation plans were drawn up during Kibakiā€™s tenure in order to protect and grow with vision 2030. With or without Uhuru, the implementation would still have taken place and will still continue long after they are gone. The modernisation was long overdue anyway.

Yes offcourse but greater urgency was increased especially after westgate. The expansion of the equipment to not only cater for military but police service.

If you can recall anglo leasing, several contracts were to benefit the police and they totalled to more than 300 million dollars. Of course shining eyes got in the way delaying the modernisation and that was between moi and Kibakiā€™s first term. The helicopter that killed Saitoti was delivered Jan 2012 as part of the ongoing modernisation. The Westgate and Garissa attacks just brought the issue to the public eye but it doesnā€™t mean that is when the push for acquisitions began.

https://star.worldbank.org/corruption-cases/node/18608

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anglo-Leasing_scandal

Niliona mahali someone argued that since the US $9 that kenya spent was cheaper than the list price of US $15million, then the airframes must be refubs, tutajua with time tho.

True, the big difference is that when jubilee took over the chopper acquisition was already in tender but the bidders were middlemen. AG advice was to wait for the tender to expire and do it afresh. That was possible under Boinnet and Nkaiserry. They opened the bid only from manufacturers which led to a backlash with the middlemen. They even sponsored an article in nation to discredit the bid. The advantage Agusta had is that they flew in a chopper for trial here to prove its effectiveness. President Uhuru even visited the plant in Italy. A few months after payment it was delivered new. Most of these noble plans have been in the woodwork for ages, it all depends on which route its acquired. The usual twice the cost, second hand equipment or new, cheaper, service contract equipment.

link tafadhaliā€¦

http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2000168756/storm-over-inferior-sh900m-police-chopper

http://www.nation.co.ke/news/Police-airwing-director-deal/-/1056/2817804/-/kpk69j/-/index.html

The middlemen tried to spin that the chopper was second hand at $9 million instead of their own which is new at $15 million, $ 6 million profit. They didnā€™t know police service was directly in touch with Agusta to lock them out. They also tried to lie that members of the airwing were locked out while it was actually them who tested the chopper for trials. In the end the middlemen wanted to get the $ ^ million profit and still possibly buy a used chopper for the police.

Thanks buddies for this, swali langu ni, mbona hii haijavaa fatigues?
Why is it black?
Asking for a friend

Most likely ni ya special operations. Can operate at night na isiwai onekana lakini yeye anaeza kuona from two kilometres away na akupatie ndengu ya rasa. Paint pia inaeza kuwa zile zinaabsorb radar kufanya detection iwe ngumu zaidi.

Hii ni eurocopter tiger ya France

https://www.eda.europa.eu/images/default-album/aw129_01-400px

HH-60 Black Hawk ya US army Night Stalkers (one of the best helicopter squadrons worldwide)

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2012/05/24/article-0-1342BB13000005DC-231_964x526.jpg

CH-47 Chinook ya Night Stalkers bado

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/92/US_Navy_090921-N-5126F-005_Special_operations_forces_descend_a_Jacobā€™s_ladder_from_an_MH-47_Chinook_helicopter,_assigned_to_the_160th_Special_Operations_Aviation_Regiment_(Airborne),_onto_the_guided-missile_destroyer_USS_Higgin.jpg

Wakikukujia hautajua ni nani wamekutandika, hata wakishikwa sirkal zao watasema hawawatambui juu hakuna markings

I always wonder, after doing all this elaborate work, how do they test drive the thing? The first flight must be nerve racking for the pilot!

Test pilot ndio hujionea mambo juu bado hajui vile ndege itabehave, yeye ndio kuchora parametres

The pilot must already have certification to fly the chopper or its nearest like version i.e digital avionic instrument flight certification, night flight etc. No rookie will be allowed to fly it as directed by Justice Rawal probe.