Stolen: Good Times Ahead.

Bidco iliacha kutengeneza mafuta na sabuni na kuuza all over the comesa region? MRM imeacha kutengeneza mabati na misumari na kuuza nchi zingine? what is to prevent other Bidcos and MRMs springing up when they are assured of markets?

Tulia baba, kenya iko kwa shimo, its part of Africa.

So we just sit down and die?

Before I opt out, why have you conveniently omitted the Naivasha-Suswa Special Economic Zones out of your argument? Do you even know where the Ethiopia’s feat of being the world’s fastest growing economy came from? It is these Special Economic Zones which saw its GDP multiply 5 times in 10 years. And make sure your paragraphs are short

save yourselves, wachaneni na siasa mingi

Heshima idumu. Hapa ni forum ya wazee. Watu wa kukojolea threads muhame mwende mkasaidie Akothee na huko North

You are trying too hard to make your fellow kenyans feel despondent. If the situation is so dire why don’t you take a rope…au…and start pulling it from the hole?:D:D

I thought the current SGR belongs to China and is part of the Road and Belt Initiative to expand the Chinese economic empire.

There was the Kibaki SGR and then there’s the Uhuru SGR.

The Kibaki SGR was to link the East African neighbors into one zone running all the way to South Sudan. But Uhuru came in and that lapset fell apart.

Hii Lapset ya Uhuru ni ya Xi Jinping. Expanding the Chinese empire.

as she saves kenyans from poverty and ignorance and disease.

These people think Xi Jinping is working for Africans. He has billion people to provide for, healthcare, roads, education, security…na io pesa itatoka Africa. Trump anateta vile China inafira country yake na nyinyi watu weusi mnaendelea kujipendekeza tu kwa mchina, hamna akili.

Leo please I hope you will keep your responses short. Okay, your theory is wrong. Here is why:

1. LAPSSET involves several elements of infrastructure. Are you saying the proposed Isiolo city will benefit mzito Jinping? And since South African Development Bank recently released Kshs 60 Billion for the Lamu-Isiolo highway, are these Chinese benefitting? Trade is two-way. Actually, China is moving its low-cost manufacturing to Africa due to rising wage costs in their country.
  2. Second, the project opens up 70 percent of Kenya. Most of us stay in the lower 30 percent of the land mass when actually the northern area is much bigger and faces issues with extreme poverty levels.
  3. Ethiopia is Africa’s and the world’s fastest growing economy. We need to access that market to stabilize ourselves against the whiny Tanzania.
  4. Northern Kenya has plenty of vast lands for organic beef rearing. This export industry will grow and realize faster economic growth for the country as a whole.

Before I opt out, why have you conveniently omitted the Naivasha-Suswa Special Economic Zones out of your argument?

Because what is this that they have produced? Are they even operational?

Do you even know where the Ethiopia’s feat of being the world’s fastest growing economy came from? It is these Special Economic Zones which saw its GDP multiply 5 times in 10 years. And make sure your paragraphs are short

I hope you realize that Ethiopia is smack bang in the middle of a debt crisis thanks to the failure of ROIs from those mega projects you’re yapping about.

https://www.theeastafricanreview.info/op-eds/2018/06/23/a-question-of-power-why-ethiopias-economic-transformation-is-a-cautionary-african-tale/

Ethiopia’s problems require a radical approach

Wewe wakati USA rolled out the Marshall plan to develop Europe ulikuwa wapi? So if China rolls out funding to close Africa’s infrastructure gap tukatae? Tuendelee kuitwa shithole? Ongea vitu unaelewa

The SGR you are talking about in this thread was the Kibaki SGR meant to create economic zones in the poorest parts of East Africa.

In places like Isiolo, Turkana in Uganda, S. Sudan, TZ etc.

The Kibaki SGR wasn’t to be constructed by China alone. It was an East African affair.

The Uhuru SGR is an afterthought. The economic zones in the Uhuru SGR ati zitajengwa na China… since when did another country rebuild another sovereign country economically?!

Ndio maana tunasema Kamwana ameuza nchi.

And they re-negotiated the funding agreements with their creditors and things are improving. The near outbreak of civil war last year was what almost hurt its economy. Halafu wewe umeelewa what I have just said. In public finance, capital improvement projects, since they are long-term in nature and will be used by future generations; and are expensive, should be financed with debt finance to avoid affecting recurrent (routine operational expenses) budgets and standards of living and so that future generations can also pay for them as they enjoy them just like we do now (Principle of Equity)

Wacha niende it is hard to educate a person who wants to stick to their feelings rather than objectively analyze. Chambueni na other resident economists wanaelewa the trajectory/phases of a country’s economic development. If you bother to analyze the East African Railway Masterplan, that is what Uhuru is sticking to, which Kibaki was party to signing.

Xi Jinping wants to take the dirtiest factories in China and dump them in Africa zika pollute huko. It’s all part of the Belt and Road initiative. Halafu mtadanganywa ati he has brought “development”.

The SGR will serve these Chinese economic zones.

This is not a Marshall plan.

A Marshall Plan mnapewa pesa mjijengee factories, barabara etc with almost no repayment plan.

The youths will get jobs, and the government will improve its tax base. Actually, China has invested more in Latin America and Europe than in Africa. Then, you should also know that the infrastructure will improve and raise our standards of living. Wacha hii racist drivel ya “Africans having no roads or living in mud huts iishe”. Your opinions are inconsequential

And you will notice proof of this even in threads on Ktalk. Ati China is going to build cities and economic zones in Africa.

Yes, hizo ni za China, sio za Africa. Sio zenu.

When Xi Jinping is in Africa he is now even closer to your cheap raw materials juu hamzitumii. He will own your ports, your roads, your railways, your factories, YOUR MARKETS etc.

And when you finally wake up and smell the coffee, it will be too late.

The British own the coffee and Tea estates, huge tracts of Kenyan land, Unilever almost all the products on the supermarket aisles, our beer, multiple banks, our safaricom and multiple other corporations, our wild animals, hotels etc etc.

Is Kenya rich? Are Kenyans rich?

You are just exchanging the U.K. for China.

No country became developed by being built or exploited by another.