TBT (midyear edition)

Tumetoka Mbali. kama hukutumia pencil kaa hii basi mlikua masonko.
[ATTACH=full]46287[/ATTACH]

my mom used to divide one pencil among the four of us, ole wako ufike nyumbani jioni hauna pencil, no food and you do extra work after being shown Nganga mbute

hebu ni wache hii hapa
[ATTACH=full]46288[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]46290[/ATTACH]
Question 1 - whats the current name of Duke of York School. 10mrks. (dont gugu)

Mombasa 1972 @HistoryKe

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl72quAUkAEv1_7.jpg https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl72quAUgAAcS-3.jpg https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl71OBoVAAMav-X.jpg

Wedding ya @gashwin 1930s

@HistoryKe

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cl5X5IiWMAAp3L-.jpg

Lenana School

Name the Judge who swore in Moi for his 3rd term in 1988
[ATTACH=full]46291[/ATTACH]

One of the set books we did in school, alongside Romeo & Juliet and African Short Stories
Unfortunately, Elechi Amadi died last night. He was 82

[ATTACH=full]46292[/ATTACH]
This is a scan of a typed copy of a letter from the Secretary of the UK’s then Queen Mother to the then headmaster of the Duke of York School, Humphrey Slade.
Kenya was, and is, one of the Commonwealth countries, a loose assemblage headed by the Queen of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Presumably protocol demanded that Slade seek the QM’s permission to change the name of the school, even though it was of course not within her power to stand in the way of any decision of an independent government to do what it wanted with any institution in the country.
It has to be said, however, that the headmaster had left it a bit late. The Duke of York became Lenana School at the end of 1966.

Luo women go fishing, early 1900s

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CE041vlWIAA79ao.jpg

wakambodia women and children, 1905

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjdBXIwXAAQNlRX.jpg https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjdBXJLXIAAVtQ6.jpg

Taveta women, early 1900s

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cjc2xYTWgAACrfy.jpg

Members of the Dorobo community in Mau Summit, 1905

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjPzXySWEAQ9vDV.jpg

https://twitter.com/HistoryKe

MHSRIP, didnt know about that while i posted

Jamia Mosque - Nairobi 1963
[ATTACH=full]46295[/ATTACH]
Nairobi was realy the City in the Sun

@Guru, @kingolonde naona nyinyi ni agemates. Pia kulikua na Masaibu ya Bro Jero. na Kusadikika.

do you know your DL is a colonial relic?
[ATTACH=full]46296[/ATTACH]
Jim Glynn, was a European who returned to Britain from Kenya.His Driving License expired on 31/12/1964.Its so well kept that it looks new even today.
since late 90s gava imekua ikisema tutabadilisiwa lakini wapi

Masaibu ya Ndugu Jero was in Kiswhahili, alongside Kisima cha Giningi and Kusadikika

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2016/06/elechi-amadi-dies-82/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elechi_Amadi

I can remember cs I was in primary, he’s CJ Cecil Miller.
ES you never disappoint!

A Vauxhaull Velox at the Nairobi National park.Photo taken in 1963.
[ATTACH=full]46298[/ATTACH]
CC: @Jazzman @Imei 2012 @bjurmann

he he, maoneo nayo asubuhi asubuuuuuhi!

Nash Rambler (KHR 746) Brand new at the time.Photo taken in 1964.
[ATTACH=full]46299[/ATTACH]
@wheelz njoo uone hii

Hii nikipata I’d never sell.