TBT Trivia

Nairobi Post Office. Currently GPO… Oldest permanent building in Nairobi. Built 1907 but wacha wajuaji waje waseme.

Give @Chloe the damn KCr.

There was one in 1904.

Cameo cinema

That’s Nairobi Railway Station. Though it has gone some few reconstructions. Lete hizo KCrs.

Which one?

thats Kipande house and it was build around 1910

Are you looking for an existing one or even if it was demolished?

The original Stanley was built in 1902

@Meria Mata and @Gendarme nipe hiyo credit ASAP. Tayari nimewapea jibu.

@Young and @Chloe will share the KCr, it’s the railway hqs

Nimepata. Lakini ungeongezea kidogo for highlighting some of the few oldest buildings. Cameo Cinema being one of them and still standing.

I know Kipande House, it’s directly opposite GPO. The ka-building should be that “Gallery” thing someone mentioned up there. It’s also one of the oldest constructions though it has been neglected and kinda in tatters.

nimepata pia… sasa naweza kamua @mfupaspective na hizo Kcr’s?

@admin na file a case ktalk supreme court. Am the one who got the answer.

Cheki time young na Chloe walijibu.
Ktalk ngatia is waiting for you

You had the right clue in the wrong place. It was first a Catholic Church before it was turned to a railway station but NOT Holy Family Basilica. The church was moved to Holy Family Basilica. So you were wrong by stating that Holy Family Basilica was the oldest build.

@Meria Mata, ongezea KCrs for answering @Liberty on your behalf.

Actually, the Holy Family Basilica is the first Stone building in Nairobi.

You wrong.
http://buildesign.co.ke/a-stoned-history-of-nairobi-by-kamau-mutunga/

The holy Family minor basilica parish is the cathedral of the Archdiocese of Nairobi. The current church as it stands was built in the 1940s and 1950s, with interruptions during the country’s liberation struggle for independence. The story of the construction of the church goes back to 1899, where the once tiny rail workers camp was growing in leaps and bounds. This impromptu settlement of the swampy plain (Nairobi), was an opportunity for the Catholic Church to cater for the religious needs of the community.

Under the administration of the Holy Ghost Fathers, in 1904, brother Josaphat, C.S.S.P (Holy Ghost Missionary) was entrusted with the building of the church. With a sitting capacity of 300-400 people, it was the first stone building in Nairobi.
http://holyfamilybasilica.info/us/
Unless mubìa is lying.

Former pc office