Tuskys going the Nakumatt route at speed ya Mach 5

The owner is a some kambodian mzee. He only trusts his own

Sasa tukisema leo we hire our own kind, si kambodians wataona shida sana? My okuyu friend who owns a fast food joint along Sheikh Karume street has only one kikuyu staff. The rest are Kambodians.

Mwenyewe anaitwa Mulei and most branches are in kambodia so usishangae

I was just wondering why they haven’t expanded beyond that region

Thieving empoyees ndo imewamaliza. They even cahoot with customers to steal. Non food invoices zinaeza maliza ata 1 year kabla hazijakua cleared. If major suppliers pull out they are as good as dead. Supplier is the king in this kind of Business.

One of the Quickmarts on the bypass was a Tumaini before acquisitions.
Magunas is a one man show.
Same case with Maathai.
Their owners have only recently ventured out of central. They will soon face the same troubles once they start expanding.

Suppliers and managers were African bonobos. Once they start doing the usual monkey business of forming cartels and colluding to fix prices, the thin profits that the supermarket relies on will evaporate. Retail chains should explore the franchise model where ownership of each branch is different, but they all pay a manageable fee.

Does Tuskys sell alcohol?

I think their problem is NOT KNOWING when to stop growing.

There is a suitable perfect size they need to research and discourage perpetual fast growth. Before absorbing Nakumatt, Tusky’s seemed manageable and profitable from outside. Then they got greedy…wanted to replace their competitor fast and easy… I have watched how Walmart operates. Even though it is family-owned, they hire talent and respect their innovation and approach. The family has a Board Director who chairs all the major meetings then consults with the rest of the family before making critical decisions. But they have specialists in every sector whose advice is respected and followed. They grow strategically, and if a new location opens up but does not perform to expectations, they shut it down within 3 years, cut their loses, and move on.

Very true. Naivas inachukua space ya Choppies. Who will tell them to just wait and stop growing with such speed?

No.
Edit: just realized it was a rhetorical question

Carrefour & Shoprite business models are different:- they don’t own the inventory, the supplier owns the inventory until sold is where they charge space fees and other costs. Every supplier has targets to meet at the end of the month hence huge discounts.

foreign parasitic owners of Capital are putting their money in Naivas, and very soon they will control the market. Pesa ikiingia huko huwa ishatoka out of circulation, hairudi tena.

Why does this rumour always spread about new retailers? Same crap was said about Nakumatt. There’s no s supermarket that can possibly run this zero risk business model. Suppliers have enough to deal with already, you can’t force them to be responsible for in store sales. Do you honestly see the big suppliers like Coke, EABL and PnG accepting such bullshit terms?

[SIZE=7]The World’s Wealthiest Family Gets $4 Million Richer Every Hour[/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]303580[/ATTACH]
The numbers are mind-boggling: $70,000 per minute, $4 million per hour, $100 million per day.

That’s how quickly the fortune of the Waltons, the clan behind Walmart Inc., has been growing since last year’s Bloomberg ranking of the world’s richest families. At that rate, their wealth would’ve expanded about $23,000 since you began reading this. A new Walmart associate in the U.S. would’ve made about 6 cents in that time, on the way to an $11 hourly minimum. Even in this era of extreme wealth and brutal inequality, the contrast is jarring. The heirs of Sam Walton, Walmart’s notoriously frugal founder, are amassing wealth on a near-unprecedented scale — and they’re hardly alone.
The Walton fortune has swelled by $39 billion, to $191 billion, since topping the June 2018 ranking of the world’s richest families.
Other American dynasties are close behind in terms of the assets they’ve accrued. The Mars family, of candy fame, added $37 billion, bringing its fortune to $127 billion. The Kochs, the industrialists-cum-political-power-players, tacked on $26 billion, to $125 billion.
So it goes around the globe. America’s richest 0.1% today control more wealth than at any time since 1929, but their counterparts in Asia and Europe are gaining too. Worldwide, the 25 richest families now control almost $1.4 trillion in wealth, up 24% from last year.
To some critics, such figures are evidence that capitalism needs fixing. Inequality has become an explosive political issue, from Paris to Seattle to Hong Kong. But how to shrink the growing gap between the rich and the poor?

https://www.bloomberg.com/features/richest-families-in-the-world/

Mulley’s is run by the sons of the late Peter Mulei. He was a pioneer sand business dealer in Mlolongo in early 2000s.

He owned a majority of lorry za mchanga

Exactly.It was run by Indians…Self hating Africans are your run of the mill booty leaking dumpster level House negros.They usually think they are smarter but in reality sense ndio wajinga zaidi…

I lost respect for Tuskys the day I watched on TV the entitled spoilt brats in the name of grandchildren stormed the offices and ejected the CEO. That just shows you how kienyeji style the company is run.

There is a kamzee who was my landlord some time back. He used to be an account for various government agencies. he told me the way Tuskys is expanding is abnormal. In real sense, any business cannot expand with that speed. Akaniambia they must be doing something illegal. Then he gave me a hint of what they might be doing. Alinishw they can be buying substandard things, then they hire people to change the makaratasi and expiry date i.e they buy substandard rice then wanaeka kwa brand new papers bags so that it appears to be quality

They will be forced to hire shiny eyes who have thieving tendancies