Advice on bargaining for pay package.

I’ve very recently been given this contract offer at the company I have been interning for after I was laid off from work late last year. It’s in my field of study and all but the package is similar to the one from my previous job and considering this opportunity is in Nairobi, I feel it’s not sufficient for the demands of the city.
I told the HR officer but she said her hands were tied and I sought of understood her place but I still went to the HR manager to discuss the matter. At the end she low balled me and said that she would add a paltry 3000 bob on the original contract arguing that the company was in a hard financial position and that all efforts are centered on its revival. I found out that this argument doesn’t apply to everyone else as the senior managers earn close to a mil. Also, it seems that people who were brought by seniors are on higher perks compared to ‘wenye hawajuani’.
Anyway I took the contract because the departmental head asked me to because his department is currently in shortage after one of the guys working there was moved to the technical department. I however asked to be given time to consider it. I now feel that assuming the role was mistake and although the HR manager said that she would consider doing a raise after the three month probation period, I feel those are just lies to make me accept their terms.
What bothers me the most is that the gross pay of the unproffesional (as in, their jobs are casual in nature) employees that are on contract is 1000 bob higher than mine athough my basic pay is higher. Add to the fact that they are entitled to overtime and I am not and their salaries could rise with as much as 15,000 makes me even more demoralised about the contract.
I have to say though that currently I am sought of hardpressed and would certainly not want to lose the offfer. However, I feel that accepting the contract in its current state benefits the company more. I have savings of around 50,000 and I sometimes contempalate going back to business. What do you guys think I should do?

i encourage people to grow.

the very first ever voice work i did, i got 2k. by the time i was retiring my voice, i was doing 90k for 30 seconds or less.

take the job. 50k is not money that will help you survive in nairobi. and clearly you’re in no position of real power here. so inhale, and get down to work.

Mujamaa, I know the ego bit is wearing you down but can you search it deep in yourself if the package is good for you without minding what the next madhafaka is earning ichukue. What options do you have if you were to drop the offer, kama ni kuenda kukaa vijiweni then I would advice you to take the offer for now and do your groundwork visuri. Ukapata mahali better apana ngoja epassport, buruka kama kunguri.

Thanks for the advice. It’s nice to know what other people have experienced and their success stories. Anyway, what if the package is barely enough to survive in the City? I was thinking of taking the offer but refuse the contract at the end of probation if the package is not enhanced. Thoughts?

Vile umeambiwa hapo juu, Stop comparing urself to those casuals and waht they earn, what is your situation right now, will that money assist you? even to add to your savings, ask the HR to put the deal in writing that after probation you get a rise so at least by then hata kama hayuko you can negotiate with the new one, for bussiness 50k i think thats if still stay at your parents house, remember bizz needs security, working capital, operation capital etc, so humbly take the job but be on toes, if a good opportunity arises, take off.

Thanks. Will consider this.

that is fine. but remember not overplay your hands. mtaka yote…

Thank you, will consider that.

Kanono Niko saidi mbaya sana. Nitafutie kibarua huko ugaibuni hata kama ni ya kuosha ngamia. I won’t mind. Ouru namalisi mimi pesa na taxes za kipuzi.

New villager, karibu kijijini, now, you are negotiating from a point of weakness. First accept the offer and work with what they are giving you. Next be 100% contented, after 4 months request for an increase, if not given, continue working with 100% dedication. Then be on the lookout for better offers. If you get an opportunity, humbly request them to leave in peace. Kazi sio lazima wewe upewe nani, kuna soo many people willing to work at a cheaper price. Wacha kiburi na entitlements, Ghaseer. [ATTACH=full]253063[/ATTACH]

Your welcome, kindly have a sit[ATTACH=full]253065[/ATTACH]

Noted.

I heard you clearly elder:rolleyes:

I used to work for certain transport company and I got promoted to managerial position at the same time as a certain supervisor. He got more money than me. I did what you have done. I compared myself with that guy. And followed up with the GM. He told me that although I was more qualified (paper wise), the guy was more qualified experience wise and that I had to serve the probation period for them to judge whether I was a fit for the position. I got that raise after probation confirmed by HR. And true to their word,I got my raise after the probation period.
Your HR has talked of reviewing your pay after the probation period. Get that confirmed and get down to work. You will get your raise but you got to.prove you are worth the raise.
And unless things change drastically,and subject to your contract,keep your ears open for better offers out there.

Fanya kazi nanii… Count your blessings not your curses.

Lol. Okay Elder.

Don’t use the gay emojis new villager chieth

Well said. I like the final part. Thanks

What will happen if you do not take the job? Do you have access to resources that can keep you going as you look for a job? If yes, reject that offer. Taking some jobs equates to subsidizing the firm with your money, sweat, and energy. As you indicate, if the pay cannot sustain you, you may eventually have to quit at some point when you can no longer afford the subsidies. Do you know how difficult it is to report to a station where you are clearly exploited? Some circumstances can be too depressing to a point where you will have difficulties looking for another job.
If you do not have other means to sustain yourself, you may pick the job, but you will need to enroll in counseling sessions to retain mental balance. You could also request them to engage you on a casual basis.

Lol! I didn’t realise that there are gay emojis!

Simple. Take the job … payrise will come after your input to the company. As they say Don’t worry about the money…trust the process.

Take the job and prove yourself during the probation. You should get your salary review promise in writing, otherwise they are taking you for a ride. I know people earning 450k and still have similar dilemma at the work place. So it’s really not the amount. If they value your work, they’ll review the pay.