Buying a car

I was following a thread here about fueling a car versus using a matatu, i must say seems most of ktalks have cars, well i dont have one
Kindly what are the tricks of buying one, planning to buy one, from my little pay through savings
MaYBE ADVICE ME the faster way if possible, on a light note
thanks

Team footsubishi life member vorrowing crosrre.

Never be in a hurry to buy a car
mambo ya fueling versus matatu depends on location, distance and convenience of matatus
You cant buy a car if you live a few km from place of work na matatu zimejaa hapo nje kwa gate
cars are good especially if you have a big family ziuokolea ukienda up country and places mat huwa hazifiki
if your gonna buy one ensure you can afford fuel and maintenance cost
do due diligence before you make a final decision

Mafuta imekuwa expe, na usichukue loan ya kununua gari

Gari ni muhimu ndugu. Chukua loan ununue gari…you grow the economy. Makes you work smart

If consumption is top of your worries, please…I repeat…please…don’t buy a car. Gari ziko na expenses kathaa wa kathaa and fuel is the least worry for any serious motorist.

I bought my car just before I resigned from my job to start my own hustle. And I can tell you, I am lucky I never got to drive too long to some workplace. Mark you, I was pocketing 75k basic which is pretty much 100Gs Gross Pay.

So, I’d really pity you if you’re earning less than that na uko hapa unajidanganya ati kununua gari ni maendeleo. Gari ni maintenance and you’ll struggle with that, for sure.

These are the facts on buying a car.

1. If you are in business or employed, and you have to move around frequently, you need a car.
  2. If you have a big family and you need to move them around, you may need a car.
  3. Forget number 1 and 2 above, if you have enough money to buy a car, then buy one. In today’s society, owning a car is an important social statement. People will give you some respect when you drive. Afadhali you use it once a month but people know uko na gari.

My fren gari ni garama. Dont buy ndio uonekane umefika saa hizo umechukua loan. But vile wamesema depending on your hustle utadecide if it is worth it. Niko na gari but I use it to go to the farm only na weekends zingine kupeleka Jnr roundi za pizza. Kwangu kwenda tao ni cheaper na mat juu ni fare unalipa tu dere achapane na jam kivyake wewe umerelax tu.

Pewa samaki mbili kwa bill yangu

I recommend you buy a jalopy… Huwezi kosa gari ya under 300-350k… :D:D:D hiyo itakufunza kukuwa mechanic before you get to afford a real machine…

Halafu zinakuwanga na kautamu flani when you actually make it move after stalling… Hehehe… Plus their parts are usually dirt cheap. And you familiarise yourself with bei ya kutoa dents na kuchomelea…

Otherwise ukikimbilia brand new or exjapan utakuwa unagongwa left right centre… :smiley:

Buy one as a hobby, it’s better than wasting that money on alcohol and women… But just know, a car is also a women magnet… Wataanza kujileta coz you have one…

Na haimaanishi kuwa na gari ndio mwisho wa kupanda matatu… Never hesitate to use public means when it suits you, regardless of owning one…

I recommend you go buy a nice ex-japan car. Usinunue third-hand tafadhali.

Kama ni loan jipange tu sawa sawa and make sure that you can comfortably pay for it. It might be the only thing that you will be proud of buying in your youth years.

Most of the cars you see on the road zimenunuliwa na part loan part savings so usitie shaka. If you successfully manage to pay the loan you will be owning the car and that will put some pride in you.

More-over the piece of mind is worth it. You need to go visit your folks away from the city…unaweka tu mafuta unaenda at your own pace, unarudi at your own pace. You want to take that lady places…unagurumisha gari unaenda tu. Believe you me the piece of mind is worth it.

Kukiharibika financially you do what other guys do…una park gari, una disconnect battery unarudia matatu. Whether you are driving or not mashida za finances zikikuja zimekuja.

Hizo shida za finances zikikuja kama bado uko na loan ndio utajua malenge si mboga… As auctioneers tow your car away…

Loan inafaa kuwa ya kuendelesha biashara pekee,… for example when you have a sudden order you need to service, na vitu kama hizo…

Not something you will be paying back from your own blood and sweat efforts…

This is called a political statement. Uki default any loan whether you have a car or not bado utajua malenge si mboga when the auctioneers come for your stock, your land, your house or the bank/sacco goes after your guarantors. The trick is to make sure that you dont default.

We cannot all become business-men as you insinuate. Some will spend entire working life in employment. They will save and/or take a loan to buy land, buy a car, go for holiday, pay school fees, etc. What they will not do is save/take a loan to do business. Business is just not their forte.

Others will be employed, use savings/take a loan to buy a car, finish paying for the car, take a loan/savings to start a business. Pay the loan for the business. Take a 3rd loan to expand the business and so on.

Others will take a loan/use savings to buy houses, land,shares, etc.
Others will take loans to take their girlfriends to expensive destinations.

Anyway…you Mr @mpendakazi should know that we cant all be business owners but we still would like to own a car via loans

You know in this life there are no hard and fast rules… And any path can get you there… Just know, if you are employed in an organisation where there is no guaranteed job security,… Taking a loan to purchase something that depreciates in value in the long run is a foolish decision…

A jalopy of circa 300-350k stabilizes in value better than a brand “new” exjapan. Why take a loan when you can buy one jalopy keep using and as you save, you can later trade in a few years later for a better car, at no interest expense to your pocket.

If you buy land, that is likely to appreciate in value over time. So that pays for itself…

You dont have to be a businessman to exercise good financial habits and discipline.

Infact when you are an employee is when you should be scared of loans more, as every single coin wil be repaid from your sweat and blood… So it better bring value to you.

Hizo vitu zingine unataja kama kupeleka kunguru holiday ningekuwa karibu na wewe ningekupea kichapo cha burukenge…:mad:

thanks all for this, have learnt a lot. i guess i have to think twice about buying one

Don’t over think. Nunua gari park kwa rental kwani iko nini. Life is short. Hiyo pesa una save for 10 years kidogo korona inakuchapa unakufa ama masaibu kwa family be it sickness and such savings zote zinapotea. Kula raha life in fupi. Life ikikulemea you just sell the car and revert back to peasant settings. gari ndogo ni cheap and can’t be compared to any tangible investment. Fueling is same as the much you’d spend on fare. Service is less than 10k every three months…how is that expensive. And convinience bana. I was in your place once until when I realised my first born atabebwa na matatu chafu when going to the clinic for check ilibidi nijikaze. Nunua gari brother. Mimi there is a time I parked two kwa landlord kwani iko nini. Ingia sacco save 200k borrow three times that and import from SBT.ukibaki na change funga music na nice rims and tyres, balance peleka slay queen road trip kangundo road…

Asiogopeshwe…as long as amefanya hesabu yake ya loan repayment vizuri, he shouldnt worry…best move is the Sacco Coz he can always keep the logbook and use It as collateral when he needs a cash boost and also the interest is low. @BigMoses if possible start with a low value car like a demio or Nissan note (kitu 400-500k) ili uzoee gharama then upgrade later. Make your kids proud, wekelea chuma kwa barabara waskie vile NMS wameweka lami mzuri :smiley:

Forking out cash to repair a jalopy every week will cost you a lot of money in the longrun. Alafu gari kuzimikia in traffic? Watu wanaeza kumeza. Alafu jalopy nazo haziendangi long trips. Nairobi to Nakuru haufiki bila breakdown moja au mbili.

Don’t rush to buy a car because your peers or even worse, your fellow ktalkers seems to own one. There are no tricks to buying a car. The part I liked is when you said… My little pay through savings… Yes, keep saving and don’t call your pay little. Have that vision that you will buy a car, commit it to God and believe me when the right time comes, you will drive your own car. Be patient, it pays.

Proverbs 13:11
Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.