Coal in Kenya...

Since coal was discovered in Kitui there have been plans to set up a coal plant in Kenya. Meanwhile, the world is going green and coal is considered as one of the most dirty fossil fuels. This has led to legal conflicts in Kenya between would be coal energy investors against residents and activists who are against the projects. The people of Mui in Kitui and Hindi in Lamu have been incited by environmental activists to say no to the projects. Most local activists are financed by international NGOs like DeCoalnize.
Personally, I believe Western govts use these NGOs to deter development in Africa. In Kenya, coal plants totalling 2000MWe are enough to sustain industrial growth and lower tariffs by half. Also, Kenyan coal which is similar to SA coal is low in sulphur and nitrogen. Still, new technology exist to filter other elements like mercury and reduce carbon by half.
The coal matter should be discussed in various platforms to ascertain its benefits and effects.

umembamba sana. ngoja afike na mapicha za development.

Coal is what developed majuu, and it’s still widely in use. Mwafrika has been conditioned that old technology doesn’t work.

Mwafrika ameambiwa he should not dare pollute the environment

2000MW plants would add about 9 million Mtoe of CO2 while the 2 million brand new second hands Kenya will add in five years will add about 80 million Mtoe of CO2. They want us to use diesel plant whose tariffs amount to 22 Kes per Kwh while coal would cost 5 Kes per Kwh.

:D:D Wacha tungoje ziletwe. Watu wa Kitui hawatakubali kuchimbwe sasa labda ile coal iko Taru pande ya Pwani.

It is ironic that coal is dirty yet we use charcoal everyday, like peasants have choices

Coal is indeed a dirty fuel, way worse than the rest but it is not the reason the Mara river is drying up, we have managed to dramatically deplete our forest cover from highs of more than 12% to 6% in less than 30 years, we have drainage systems and rivers littered and clogged by plastic waste, our towns are filled with all manner of waste, kuna watu hii Kenya huenda ata kanisa or supermarket less than a kilometre away in their cars, totally oblivious of the impart of carbon emissions on the environment, gava nayo has totally failed to incorporate cycling lanes and pedestrian walkways on our roads making cycling a russian-roulette kind of exercise, hakuna haja ya kujifanya eti tunajali mazingira, lets start with the simple stuff like littering and planting trees before opposing coal_powered powerplants

<

food for thought, By 1940, the 3rd Reich under Adolf had managed to obtain food security. Most of Africa today, is still far from achieving food security including Kenya.
But, we’re unwilling to acquire technology that was in use a few decades ago, and develop it to fit our needs, opting for the latest technology, which is expensive , and at times not fully developed.

Why should it cost our lives to Industrialize? Why should it cost our health? So destroy our environment so that dragon people from china can run their factories in Athi River?
Why should China import coal from South Africa to burn it at Lamu?
Coal ni mbaya.
Kenya imekua kama yule malaya hutombwa tu na kila mtu.

A normal Kenyan doesn’t know what carbon emission is

Which class did you attend that told you that your climate is being destroyed by nearby coal plants? :D:D
Whether China burns the coal in Lamu or in Guangzhou, you will suffer the same fate. Wacha ichomewe Lamu where it will help us.
When CO2 gets into the atmosphere, it doesn’t know Google maps.

it’s always been the case since 25BC ,NGO’s are akin ti prefects in school,they are the snitches in the third world

Its not about climate. Tembea tu Athiriver kwenye wanachoma coal uone health ya wafanyikazi vile iko.

The developed world has been burning coal for 200 years. They are doing just fine.

Have you ever heard of Lung cancer boss? Look up the rates of that disease where they burn/ mine coal.

halafu watakujia hiyo coal wakatengenezee steel ya kuunda magari na ya kutuuzia tujengee madaraja na reli.

Can you please post the lung cancer statistics for the Ruhr region of Germany tuone what you are talking about?

True, also to power their coal plants.

have you read the adverse effects of coal in Pennsylvania? go youtube uone the kind of cancers those people are dealing with . but unfortunately those dummy heads are in MAGA team under stewardship of @patco . The same dummy heads don’t want universal healthcare to treat their fucking cancer caused by fucking coal pits . Yes they are dummy heads.