Entry level software dev salary

Villagers I am interested in the relative entry level front end or backend or full stack developer salaries. Anyone with reliable figures on such please share.

@Deorro @snapdragon

I have two friends in Andela. Walikuja kuniringia wanapewa 130k. I don’t really care about it and don’t know what those fuckers do as long as I do better. You can work with that figure

Fuck Andela … unaingia contract serious sana its like signing your soul to the devil

But they go to Silicon Valley US at least once a year so naona wanaweza pata their own clients huko. Sioni ikiwa place mbaya kuanza. Also, kuna this place called i-hub tulikuwa tunaenda kitambo, don’t know whether bado hukuwa. Go and link up na wasee huko wenye wako kwa tech industry. Don’t bother buying packed lunch, meals are free huko.q

You

well they do go to states i have a friend there last year walikuwa NY …after joining training waliukwa wanapewa 50k toka hapo probably its the figure you have stated above … but all i know is in the contract you cant work or dev for anybody else na ukibreach unakipata

Hio ni upuss! 130k is not enough to make you comfortable. I used to make almost twice as much in employment and I still wasn’t comfortable enough to stop doing side hustles. Mwanaume hawezi tegemea job moja kusurvive Nairobi.

Also join groups such as the one of linux users in Nairobi sikumbuki jina but najua zitakupea info poa sana

curious:

what skillset were you packing—programming language wise?

pia sufferingcons ni 130 gross. working hours sio mbaya but hakuna kula müri. You shall sweat for your salary ngobo.

Wacha kujipiga kifua… 130 is very sufficient for a 20-25yr old to start life hapa Nairobi. And I didn’t see anywhere where he mentioned comfort…So how much do you want an entry level dude to earn? 250k?hapa Kenya? Yes I know of software developers who started with 600k after masters …but that was in a foreign country

Usichochwe hapa. Getting 50k as a starting for an ENTRY LEVEL dev is a good deal. Expect less but aim higher.

Boss, my point was not that 130k is low pay. The point I was trying to drive home was that it is not worth abandoning your side hustles for that meagre salary. As a good developer it possible to make twice as much on the side while still holding your full time job. Why should one agree to sign a document that prohibits them from doing that?

They sent me an invitation last month na sikujibu

Niko sawa JavaScript, node js na frameworks ni react plus electron. I am still in campus third year.

Following pole pole

Entry level salaries for developers especially here in Kenya are quite varied,as they’re not even market rate to start with.

You cannot compare the salary that devs in the Western part of the world to here in kenya. Even a salary range based on skills and experience - most employers wouldn’t probably match what you want as they have a pre-determined figure in mind. I have attended quite a couple of interviews where developers are being hired and the reality check was humbling. That said, in my experience, I’ve seen most places paying developers salaries ranging from 50K in gross all the way to 120K in entry level. This range now depends on the place you’re working for; maybe it’s a startup, or some mid-range company which doesn’t want to pay you more than you think you’re worth. Also if you’re working for a muhindi with a tech startup, don’t expect anything too high. A good example is Craft Silicon (Little Cab App devs).

Someone mentioned iHub - which used to pay it’s consultants around 80K last time I checked, not sure whether they revised it or not. All in all, the only way to earn well as a dev is if you’re lucky enough to land a place that values your work as a developer, and be sure to throw in a few side projects in there as well.

The Andela model is basically just a consultancy where you as a dev does projects for Andela’s clients. There is a very aggressive intellectual property clause on the projects that you work on at Andela - which is not so fair to a dev at all. Their fellows are assigned projects which could determine their personal growth or go the other way. However depending on your growth curve, you could go as high as 200K in earnings. Their salary in general is however not competitive at all.

@amun your advise

there’s a certain group we had this discussion, to disappoint you… there’s no data. Simply because companies withhold that kind of info, and devs too. As someone said above, the salaries are so varied because there’s no set market rate. It’s what the company can afford to pay that determines your pay. You can also find devs in the same firm earning disparate salaries… one is paid 50k, another 70k, another 100k, another 150k etc.