Excise Duty Confirmed 200K watu walie sasa

[ATTACH=full]22649[/ATTACH]

Well in!

wateja hawjasoma fine print watauziwa gari yeyote na mark up ya 200k plus watu wakae rada

This is now too much, Jubilee out!
They can’t tax us more and at the same time they are busy stealing left, right and centre.

shieet

Nafumilia kuwa mkenya.
and we will still vote jap/jubilee

Someone please answer this … What about those cars whose excise duty was already more than 200k?

i thought its you pay the excise duty then a fixed sum of 200k on a vehicle that is more than 3 years old

This isn’t equitable. This duty introduces a flat rate of duty irrespective of the value of vehicle forgetting all externalities of consumption e.G big cars burn more fossils. This denies govt more revenue.

Newer cars will be cheaper than they are now. More people will buy these newer cars which in turn fetch higher taxes than the older models. The newer cars have less carbon emissions as well.

This is actually a good bill for car imports.

When I saw the argument, I failed to understand what the government is trying to do. Is there some big wig in car business pushing this?

I agree. New cars less than 3 years will pay a rate of 150k while older than 3 years will pay 200k. Though it’s better than earlier rate of 20% of CIF. KRA could be arming for an amendment

I answered this a while ago

[ATTACH=full]22655[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]22657[/ATTACH]

Wale ambao hawanunui magari hawana taabu, sio? Au tuogope nini?

Newer cars won’t be cheaper, the bill hasn’t reduced excise duty on newer cars, it has only made the older cheaper cars which are affordable to Mwananchi more expensive.

Cars are being restricted to a certain class. Maskini enda upande matatu mara moja!!! Na ulipe kodi ndio ninunue rangerover ya campaign!! nigga.

Now owning a car is a luxury once AGAIN!

@jerrydubiz so cars less than 3 years won’t pay a flat rate excise duty of Kes 150k?

Mbona naona watu wa route 11 wanateta??? Mathaais kalisha haga chini mtu wa D

The demand for second-hand cars will be low. Japan might react by bringing down export duty which would effectively make the cars affordable once more.