Flu

@Luther12
@Purple
Madaktari wote

How long does the flu take to clear out? There is an outbreak and I got it. I went it to see a doctor and she gave me a dry cough syrup, a mouth wash and told me to take lots of lemonade.

Can anything be done to ease the discomforts? The sore throat, the slight headaches and the general body fatigue! I have exams coming up and I can’t read! What should I take to ensure a quick, painless revovery? Will it take days au ni weeks to vanish?

Thank you.

Dawa ya flu ni moja: flu vaccine prior to the onset of the flu season.

sweat it out:D
when we were young we would steep eucalyptus leaves in a karai or sufuria of hot water, then lower our faces over the sufuria while covered with a towel until one was sweating profusely. it worked.

So siwezi fanya kitu ya kunisaidia?
Will oranges do in place of the lemonade?

I have loads of work to do! Cats, reports, online modules. Med school btw.
Can anything be done about the Sore throat and the fatigue? Home remedies?

he he…uko mwaka gani med school? Dr @Luther12 kuja ona an Doctor…

REST, REST, REST…

doc,hii vaccine inaweza pewa 1yr old baby?

Nilienda pharmacy. Initially nilikuwa med so bado niko med school. But dissection na damu hapana. Mimi huonea hiyo vitu mbali kwa dissection lab.

If your flu symptoms are not more than 2 days old, oseltamivir is recommended. If it’s been more than 2 days, you’re past the treatment window.
Staying hydrated is key, clears up the congestion faster. Drink plenty of water, tea, chicken soup. Vitamin c tablets do help in boosting your immunity. The rest ni symptom control; acetaminophen and lozenges for sore throat, antihistamines for cough/runny nose. It’s hard to rest when you have important things on your plate but do try…

For how many days/hours should I rest?
I can’t rest for real though. I have exams to read for, and I have to walk to Chiromo every day!

The dry cough started yesterday. I am taking the lozenges(strepsils) for the sore throat and a dry cough syrup which I guess isn’t an antihistamine. I don’t have a running nose though!

About the hydration, water has began tasting horrible. Tea too. I could try some juice, yes? And Citrus fruits?

Thanks.

pole.

You’re within the window of treatment. Go to your pharmacy asap and ask for oseltamivir 75 mg twice daily for 5 days. It went generic last year so price imeshuka…Juice ni sawa as long as the sugar content is not too high, which can be dehydrating.

In Mombasani it was the neem tree.

You are a very good Doc.

This is a trick i learned in highschool;Chukua sweater na ufunge al shabaab(zungusha kwa shingo hadi mapua).As in only the eyes are out 24/7 for 2-3days iyo kitu kwisha.I discovered this myself and it worked 100%.Good luck

Thanks
but niko Uni, hiyo itakuwa ngumu kiasi kufanya. Unless kwa hostels tu

Tafuta scarf na mboshori.Swagg utaanza march after umepita mtihani.

Uko med sch na hujui majibu ya swali lako? Drop out.

The only time that drug was available was as a WHO donation in the H1N1 day’s. Saa hii jaribu kuinunua usikie maajabu.