Hii maendeleo tamaliza mimi!!! Minister unveils plan to turn Msa-Nbi road into six-lanesuperhighway

[SIZE=6]State invites bids for expansion of Nairobi-Mombasa highway[/SIZE]

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/3390274/medRes/1442502/-/maxw/600/-/9frm13z/-/RAIL.jpg
Construction of the Standard Gauge Railway overpass on a section of the Nairobi-Mombasa road, which is set for expansion. PHOTO | FILE
By KIARIE NJOROGE, [email protected]
Posted Wednesday, September 21 2016 at 20:40
IN SUMMARY
[SIZE=16px]The 485-kilometre highway is part of the Great North Road that moves more than 50 per cent of all goods traded in East Africa.[/SIZE]
[li]Planned expansion of the Nairobi-Mombasa road into a six-lane super-highway is expected to begin in the next couple of months with the invitation of bids for the project.[/li][/ul]
Transport and Infrastructure secretary James Macharia said the government planned to build the road through a Public Private Partnership (PPP), but fell short of indicating whether it will be Kenya’s first pay -for- use highway as has been suggested.

Expansion of the two-lane road into a six- lane modern highway should offer relief to motorists on the busy highway that links Kenya’s capital Nairobi to the port of Mombasa.

“We have developed plans to do it (the expansion) in terms of having a PPP framework,” Mr Macharia said during a business luncheon organised by the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA). He said his ministry would soon make public the framework for the partnership, adding that the road would begin with a 12- lane highway on Mombasa island before narrowing into a six-lane highway to Nairobi.

The 485-kilometre highway is part of the Great North Road that moves more than 50 per cent of all goods traded in East Africa.

Nearly all of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan’s imported goods reach their destinations via this road, making it an important regional economic asset.

More than 90 per cent of all goods landing at Mombasa port are ferried by road, underlining the build-up of pressure on it as traffic volumes continue to grow.

The port handled 1.07 million twenty-foot equivalent units (TEUs) of cargo last year, up from 695,000 TEUs in 2010, signifying rising trade volumes in the region.

That growth has, however, not been matched with equal expansion of the infrastructure over the past 50 years. The Nairobi-Mombasa road has, for instance, remained a single-carriageway despite the huge increase in the number of private cars, buses and trucks transporting cargo.

The narrow highway has sometimes suffered painful gridlocks lasting for days and deadly accidents, mainly from head-on collisions.

Mr Macharia said expansion of the road, together with the ongoing construction of the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR), are part of a plan to create an integrated transport system for the port.

“The port cannot be seen in isolation – it should be seen as an integral part of infrastructure development,” he said.

Mr Macharia did not indicate what kind of PPP model would be used to build the road, but the government has in recent years flirted with the idea of introducing toll roads.

Another possible model is the annuity programme that the State has already introduced to develop other roads

1 | 2

The chinese will get that tender…

Mtalipa Moi Standard center na aligrab.

The best bit is that it is a Public, Private, Partnership and therefore no public money will be used. However drivers will have to chose the current highway which remains free or pay toll charges to use the new additional express lanes.

That’s great, I hope it extends to Malaba/Busia in future.

Besides the Nairobi-Mombasa highway, the government also plans to expand the 157km Nairobi-Nakuru highway into a dual carriage status under a PPP model to improve the flow of traffic to Western Kenya and beyond!

That road has unbearable traffic jams on Sundays. The expansion was long overdue.

@Da Vinci sielewi kitu bwana I thought sgr will help reduce traffic from mombasa to Nairobi, why then waste money to build roads in the same route whereas some routes have no descent roads. …like Nairobi eldoret is single lane?

Besides the Nairobi-Mombasa highway, the government also plans to expand the 157km Nairobi-Nakuru highway into a dual carriage status under a PPP model to improve the flow of traffic to Western Kenya and beyond!

Ikifika Nakuru, si unajua hiyo stage nyingine ni Eldoret, ama?

Sweeet!!! Cruise control sasa unaset from Athi River hadi Msa.

Hehehe!
Ethiopia, hold tight! Here we come!

This doesn’t make any sense at all.
How will it compete with SGR?

If it has a toll station, is there an alternative route for peasants?

[ATTACH=full]58420[/ATTACH]

Ukisha sign on the thread najua ni true story!
This are the kind of news i like…sasa nangoja tu kuona ground kick off…not like somewhere along the line comes those stupid court cases then the project is put on hold for forever! Kisumu-kak-webuye is it? H/way! Was so happiest when the project kicked off cz i had suffered long enough na hio njio given that my shagz is somewhere in between kakamega and malava(not malaba) before kitale a junction called kambi ya mwanza! The diversions from kisumu to sigalagala were horrible, then before lubao to few kms past lubao…vumbi tuu! I endured that last year all the times i visited huko. Kitambo we could do a dunda in katch tao and drive all the way arnd 25km to my shaggz as late as 4AM bt manze…for the past like 2yrs, it became so hard due to that horrible section that had been abandoned!
I know the matter was resolved bt sijauliza kama tingatinga zisharudi njiani!

It looks like villagers are planning kenyan transport. This doesn’t add up.

Any seasoned transportation engineers/planners/economists to shed light on this matter?

Else, This is just a scheme to eat tax payers money by tenderprenureship.

Construction has resumed, it was one of those jacob juma contract that had stalled after he was sued by the contractor over fees and he counter sued. When he passed on the case proceeded and KeNHA was awarded back the project. It has a new contractor and work has commenced again at full pace.

All that i know…bt like i always and i stated…tinga imerudi barabarani? Same as what i said abt the coasto bridge…nikiona tinga ama excavator kwa site thats when i rejoice! All in all hope come Dec i wont have to endure the same shit hizo sehemu nimetaja huko juu! They aint long distances compared to the rumuruti-maralal, or Garissa-wajir which i have done bt they are so annoying given that at timea nikiwa hizo area i do that road like twice or thrice to and fro a day coz kakamega town is my main(nearest) town!

To understand this decision look at the road projects ongoing and in tender right now. Nairobi-Machakos dual road, Thika-Muranga dual road, Thika-Kirinyaga dual road, Nairobi -Ngong Road-Ngong-Kiserian dual road, Rongai-Bomas-Karen dual road, Rironi-Nakuru dual road. The only missing link is Nairobi-Mombasa dual road and even more crucially it’s the artillery for all this roads. The fact that it’s a PPP project means no public funds are used and it can commence immediately.

I didn’t read the fags up what they said but kamba land will be accessible with ease for mr johnson. # chupi lee

@spear, Mombasa to Malindi Road is also in books for dualling! When the works start very few Nairobi Talkers will recognize Mtwapa town, how with practically every building marked for demolition!