Human Hypocrisy Never Ceases to Amaze Me

Kuna hii discussion about retirees that has made me realize that the common man is either outright ignorant or blindsided. A question was posed on what one would do at age 60 (retirement age), with a very high net worth (enough to afford an affluent life in Nairobi’s leafy suburbs). I read the comments and realized that most people said that they would leave the city, go upcountry and set up ranches, farms, etc. In theory, it sounds like a very nice idea. In practice, it is hardly achievable.

People who reason like that argue from a middle class and low income retiree’s point of view (little exposure). From the middle class or low income person’s point of view, moving to the countryside is an easy decision to make because the quality of life would be significantly better. From a wealthy retiree’s point of view, it wouldn’t be that straightforward. A wealthy person is exposed to a totally different version of Nairobi that the middle class and low income retirees never experience. Therefore, it will be incredibly difficult if not impossible for a wealthy retiree to move from the posh lifestyle in the city to the country lifestyle. He will be sacrificing a lot of luxuries and friends by making that decision.

There is a reason why many Moi and Kibaki era bureaucrats and politicians still live in the leafy suburbs and not in their simbas back in the village. They have experienced the situation and made the optimal choice.

A common mwananchi claiming that he would shift from an affluent life in the city, to a rural life is about as genuine as a 22 year old man who claims that he will invest a windfall two minutes after receiving it. In reality, we all know that the young man will blow the money on booze, ladies, trips and cars on a balance of probabilities. You can reasonably predict what the young man will do based on observation of what many young men have done in similar circumstances. In the same way, all those saying that they would move upcountry if they are affluent at 60 are statistically unlikely to do so. This can be deduced from the behavior of those that have been in similar circumstances before and chose to stay in the city in large numbers. There will always be two examples that did the opposite but statistically they are insignificant.

My point: The reason why you think you would go to the countryside and start farming is because you are not 60 and you don’t have the money. In reality, you would do exactly what those filthy rich ex-bureaucrats have done. You wouldn’t leave Kanairo over your dead body - literally. The money would open a whole new world to you.

NB: This post applies strictly to wealthy retirees - wealthy enough to afford a posh lifestyle in the high end addresses in Nairobi. Someone who has a choice of living in a place like Muthaiga, or retiring to Nanyuki.

Kwa hivyo muache kujidanganya how you would return to gishagi, start farming, and retire into the sunset. That’s the unexposed peasant in you speaking :D:D

[ATTACH=full]362209[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]362210[/ATTACH]

Moi era bureaucrats are in nakuru county enjoying their sunset years…many more are in eldoret and kitale.
Hapa nakuru we have the likes of kulei, sambili, lee njiru etc enjoying their retirement in their vast farms…these are mzees with properties in karen and muthaiga. If you go to eldoret the stretch from moi’s bridge all the way to kitale reads like a roll call of moi era technocrats and former military Generals…they lead very quiet lives, you will only meet them once in a while hapa Nairobi having come for medical consultations or to check on their vast properties.

They are still the minority. 75% of Kenya’s ultrawealthy reside in Nairobi and we all know stealing from the till is the primary source of that wealth. Very few people migrate to shagz from the leafy suburbs even after retirement. If they did, then the concentration of high net worth individuals would not be that high in Nairobi.
Also, don’t make the mistake of seeing their assets and thinking that they reside there. That is a common misconception. If they have houses in Karen and Muthaiga, I can bet that’s where they spend most of their time and not Eldoret.

So how or what would you advice them to do assuming they’ve taken your criticism positively

you need to understand you cant just move to the coutryside at 60 you need to understand what you’re going to do there? Most people don’t have a retirement plan(When you plan to move to shagz start planning for it from your 30’s or 40’s build a mansion there plant trees make a Palace for yourself).And as much you’re moving there if you’re in the middle class,buy yourself a townhouse or an apartment in lavington or kilimani kwa wakora you need the city from time to time.

Wewe umevuta bhangi mbaya

Most people who were brought up in Nairobi when there was order and working systems cannot wait to move out.

Shagzmondos like you and your ilk who came to Nairobi in their adulthood cannot imagine how anyone would want to live a quiet country life.

In the next two decades when 70s and 80s kids who were born and brought up in Nairobi reach retirement age, you’ll see a majority of them settling in small towns like Nanyuki and gated communities outside Nairobi.

Mimi kama born town can’t relate to this discussion

I was once involved in looking for land for such a person. The place he wanted had to have these.
Water had to be available or could be pumped.
Electricity was a must.
Not more than 10 minutes drive to a supermarket (good supermarket), hataki kufuata watu kwa the local shop.
Land had to be at least 30acres
No school within a kilometer
Major hotels nearby would have been a plus.
So we settled for areas around Nanyuki.
He stays there once in a while and he loves it. I won’t say his name but he loves it. He pumps water from a river and even during the dry season his lawns are a sight to behold.
He keeps a few goats that are way out of sight.
Every once in while he’ll host a few people for a goat or two.
And he keeps ornamental birds.
A small farm but ile pesa imewekwa hapo!!

Karangi has a place in Mweiga! Does shopping in Nairobi or Nanyuki.

At some point you’ll have to stop all these juvenile and naïve ‘baze-ya-jaba’ theorizing and find a job. You’re clearly a moron with internet and too much time on their hands. What makes you think Kibaki and Moi, who are exceptional in every respect, are representative of every wealthy retiree? Anyway, older people are inclined to live where they live a quieter life and still enjoy good amenities and strong social ties, wherever that may be. It comes down to individual preferences, and the preferences are as many as the said wealthy retirees.

Ata ivo, there is nothing worth 400 million in that Mweiga house, lazima tukubaliane ivo kwanza.

a family friend who happens to be an ambassador has just purchased a huge land in ocha and is planning to build as soon as possible. he lives in Karen. Apart from Nairobi Hospital and Maybe Agha Khan, why should an old person lstick to living in this filthy city?

[FONT=courier new]Parasite capital owne[/FONT]r

Hii Filthy Nairobi ni sisi tu ma sufferer and middle class huona.
Nairobi has a whole different ecosystem for the monied. Their own security, ambulance systems, schools and the rest.

:D:D:D… Nairobi is overated. Mimi if had the money hii Nairobi ningekuwa naonea kwa tv. Micheal Joseph sold some of his safaricom shares to build in lewa conservancy. I will give up Nairobi in a heart beat for that lifestyles. As we speak there is a huge migration from karen to nyanyuki and tigoni.

I am not your therapist Kimakia.

If you had the money you would see an entirely new version of Nairobi and you would be reluctant to leave, just like Kibaki and the other 75% of high networth individuals in Kenya. That’s the entire point of this thread.
Michael Joseph, your mentor, lives in Nairobi :smiley:
Secondly, there is no huge migration from Karen to anywhere. Those people migrating are negligible in the grand scheme of things compared to those that stay.

Just like it was said the other day , Azor Ahai is a bitter housewife who knows very little about the matters that he purports to know

Nope, I can do fine without Nairobi… FYI the ppl moving to tigoni are young ppl . The likes of vipingo ridge,mayani& longonot gate exist for a reason.

This is a moot point. Rich people have multiple addresses, they can access each of them by simply hopping on to a plane. They’re able to enjoy the best aspects of everything while minimizing the drawbacks. Only poor people are stuck in one location forever, can’t even afford a vacation abroad.

Here’s comes mutura-ndom again with his foolish unsolicited and innacurate theories. But we understand, hata mimi ningezaliwa kinangofu where piped water issaa movie singewahi taka to leave my one-bedroom juja flat to go back to ocha.

But i have seen many guys like u, na by 60 they are still languishing in the city chasing shadows, struggling to keep up with Jonesses.

Son, u wont afford a mansion in Runda in your lifetime. So quit dreaming and start looking for the next Runda and invest there. And that Runda wont be in Nairobi.