IT Certifications in the Kenyan Market

Niajeni wasee. I have just completed my CCENT and am planning on getting my CCNA in a month or two. After that I don’t know which other cert to go for, there’s MCSA, VM Ware, Linux+/LPIC, Security+ from Comptia etc. For those who are already in the industry, which certs will help me land an entry level job? Do Kenyan employers value certifications? Any input will be appreciated. TIA.

Kenya system ni who do you know… Unaweza kuwa na first class kama yule mkale anasimama mca kericho na uwe watchie mboss… Fanya course itakupa hands on experience… Yaani a technical course that can enable you to be self employed…

What line do you plan to take? networking, Security, DBs, Web Dev? Answer that then I will advise you accordingly.

Am thinking more of networking and Security.

After CCNA…CCNP

Unajua hizo vitu amesema ama kazi yako ni kupayuka tu? Uliwahi fanya CCNA na mkafundishwa theory pekee?

Boss mii sitafuti course. University tulitoka. People still get jobs bila kujuana because of their skill set. I know very many who have. Kuna kazi unaeza pewa na msee mnajuana na ushindwe kuifanya. First class inalingana ni ya nini, ya Computer Science ama ya Forestry?

Umepata Computer Driving License?

Then take CCNA, CCNP, and CEH. And probable RHCE.

hii ni ya form 4 leavers mkubwa. Tunaongelea serious certifications.

So I don’t need to know a little of this and a little of that? I’ve been seeing a lot of companies where the system admin is also the network admin. Thats why I was considering another entry level cert instead in order to have a different skillet such as server administration. Its like more of a data centre full stack. Juu nikiendelea na CCNP mambo ya Active Directory na Virtualization nitawai julia wapi. This was my thinking line. Is it better to focus solely on networking and get the CCNP ama ni diversify skills na other certs? Which one will make it easier to get a job?

Ongeza Linux administration, CCNA security, alafu upige mix ya avaya na mikrotik.Na uchukue driving licence unawesa pata job inahitaji kwenda sites na company car. an example ni Empire Microsystems hapo upper hill shelter afrique, JTL or Zuku Faiba

Kazi yangu ni kupayuka bwana admin… Wewe qualification zako ni gani kuwa admin hapa… Tuliza makende… Mimi certs zangu zina gather dust kwa cupboard. But i make mulla.and just you know i have an IT Degree from Juja plus hizo taka taka za mcse, linux plus a whole lotta other specialization certs… Na sisumbui.

uko na certs gani kwa cupboard?

On that note i wanted to do CISA, CISM. which college is offering these courses and at how much

strathmore I think they offer visa na cism

and what are the requirements and the costs involved

Hizo mbili zimetosha. Focus kutafuta job. Most companies have training costs as part of the IT budget. As such, most certs utapata ukiwa job (either paid ama ujilipie depending on your interests).
Experience ya job ni muhimu.
I hope unatafuta.

Learn more, you can pay for exam and materials ama you apply for classes.
http://m.isaca.org/CERTIFICATION/Pages/default.aspx?cid=1210054&Appeal=SEM&gclid=CjwKCAjwqcHLBRAqEiwA-j4AyJl2tuls-yYqCLojJE9YzhPcCGBD8_9MloxplCdaFM8wMFbwAWTG3RoCed0QAvD_BwE

Roughly 70k