I've finally accepted i'm old.

I woke up, did my morning rituals and after I dressed up, I went to say goodbye to my son. See, last night, I had gone through my wardrobe and found this pair of distressed jeans I haven’t worn for a while so I thought I would wear it today. Here is how distressed jeans looks like
[ATTACH=full]19607[/ATTACH]

My son looks at me and says “Mommy, your trousers are broken”. I smiled and said ‘No, they’re not broken…” Before I could finish my sentence he touches the distressed parts and tells me “Look, it’s broken. You need to fix it”. I just took a walk of shame back to my room, his words falling around me like dead autumn leaves. I looked at myself in the mirror and realized that I’m no longer a wild teen; I’m a mother, a grown up and it’s about time I donate my wild fashion and start dressing up like a responsible grown up. I realized that i should also stop buying Justin Bieber tickets because probably the next time I attend his concert, the security will say “Baby, baby no…” and probably confiscate my veggie sticks snacks.
I’ve finally realized that I’m no longer a youngling and therefore i should stop using phrases like amazeballs and some stone-age slang which makes modern cool people roll their eyes.

What are some of the things that people do which you feel like they are age inappropriate?.

mtu yuko 34+ lakini hawezi panda matatu yenye haina hizo kelele mateens huita hewa

Hehehe I am with your son on this, old woman! (I would hi-five him). But that’s because I don’t like torn jeans ;). For me it’s just new sheng words… I hate em. But somehow I am forced to use them as I mentor young guys which is part of my job.

When my cousins send me messages using this foreign language ‘xaxa K mbo& 2c08…’ can’t even remember these rest. WTH???

11 Likes

Ama hiyo lugha ya ghetto radio.

On Thursday this over 40 woman came to my work place. She had an issue she wanted to be assisted with. She wore a very revealing, low cut top and a flared mini skirt that left almost everything out when she sat down. It was a very uncomfortable 10 minutes that I took to sort her out. The question that lingered in my mind after she left was. ‘Why would a woman her age dress that carelessly?’

When i cant keep up with guys during cheki maneno.

admirers wakiisha lazima goods ziwe displayed

Years ago my phone used to have lots of hiphop ringtones. Volume was loud.

Nowadays my phone is mostly silent (vibra only). All ringtones are factory settings.

26 Likes

I expect that you would share some of your k-talk “Mathice” wisdom that would leave her pulling her skirt downwards.

I would gleefully do that but work place etiquette wouldn’t allow it, ‘be nice to customers, act interested in their queries’ bla bla bla.

Well, almost two decades ago, practically all the bar maids in the pubs that I patronised were older than me.

I realised that I am no longer a ‘kid’ when I discovered that today, it’s almost impossible to get a bar maid of my age. Niwewacha the average bar maid with at least 15 years. Now, that’s when you realise that you are no longer young.

And some proceed to ask you how pubs were then in those dinosauric ages because some of them were not yet born when I was already drinking.

11 Likes

30 somethings who wear plastic high top sneakers :mad::mad:

35+ na bado mtu anatembea na ear phones ama beats by dre everywhere like a college teen.

That sh*t annoys me. Especially wale wanavuka barabara with their stupid huge beats earphones or even just normal earphones! How senseless!!

is that really you in the pic? now i really look forward to your homecoming;);)…

Old ninjas doing teenage stuff on social media. e.g.

1. You live in the same house & share same bed with your better half. But you post on her Facebook wall “I Love you sweetheart”

2.Ninjas who are travelling by air but lets everyone on facebook know it. e.g. " Feeling excited…at JKIA terminal 1A lounge"

16 Likes

A wise man said;
A man is as old as he thinks, a woman is as old as she looks …

My son is sitting for his K.C.P.E next week, it kinda scares me I could be a grandfather in the next five years.

Na wale out on honeymoon Lakini keep updating you. People go out for the honeymoons to spend time with each other n not with the world digitally