Jubilee development; Somali border wall almost complete

A security fence project along the Kenya-Somali border conceived to keep out Al-Shaabab militants turned into a cash cow, gobbling over Sh3.3 billion for a 10 kilometre stretch, according to a report tabled in the National Assembly.

The revelations, which have outraged lawmakers, tells a tale of impunity, where people charged with state resources splashed Sh300 million per kilometer on the security barrier consisting of chain link, razor barbed wire and concrete poles.

The idea to build the wall conceived in the wake of constant attacks by the militants was approved by the National Security Advisory committee (NSAC) in 2015 and was undertaken by the ministry of Interior and Coordination of National government.

It was later transferred to the Ministry of Defence following a presidential directive.

“Before handing over of the project to the Ministry of Defence, the ministry had expended a total of Sh3, 380, 353, 960.52 as tabulated below,” states the report.

It then gives a breakdown of the spending: Sh887 million (2014-2015 financial year), Sh306 million (2015-2016 financial year) and Sh578 million (2016-2017 financial year). This however adds up to Sh1.7 billion and it is unclear whether some expenditure has been skipped.

However, in another section, the report states Sh 1.5 billion was reallocated to the ministry of Defence after the transfer of the project.

Although the Government splashed the huge amount on the 10-kilometre stretch, construction workers from the National Youth Service (NYS) are said to have gone without pay, according to details gleaned from minutes of the report by the Defence and Foreign Relations committee.

“The wall project was established by the NSAC through a letter from Chief of Staff and Head of the Public Service addressed to the Principal Secretary, State Department of Interior,” reads the report.
Initial estimates by the Ministry of Defence put the total cost of the project at Sh8 billion. The money was to be spent on three sections of the project covering 700km.

The three sections are Northern (Sh3.5 billion) covering 160km, Southern (Sh2.6 billion) covering 105km, and Central (Sh1.8 billion) with 445km.

[ATTACH=full]229252[/ATTACH]

Kenya nchi yetu. A line about greed should be included in the national anthem.

Iyo ni wall

While many farmers are still holding their maize in stores due to the mess created by vultures in jubilee govt.

The Jubilee Government is addicted to obsolete technologies in the 21st Century no matter how badly it costs the taxpayer. From a white elephant called the SGR to this joke of a fence, they simply can’t use their brains even if they tried.

Not even the Great Wall of China succeeded in keeping enemies out.

We were made to believe it was a wall, I remember media showing NYS joining a concrete wall.

Wenye walipewa tender ya kusupply hizo building materials wako somewhere wanaponda mali pole pole wakingojea next deal

Nyinyi pia hamsikiagi,si mliambiwa mtafute another kind of crop to plant,sio nyinyi woote mpande mahindi.Hiyo ni kazi ya DP sasa ku supply Mahindi

Jubilee will go down as the most corrupt regime to have ruled in Kenya. Gathecha ni ombwakni mitoto ya paka Mzee.

“As we watch in a silent move, some say it’s just part of it we got to fullfil the books, can’t you help me sing this song of freedom”

While Ruto faction is revving up to be at the helm for next 10yrs

No can’t you see jubilee development after every 30 minutes in this village? Don’t you know ni opposition wanapaka jubilee govt matope na allegations za corruption? Kwani umetoka shimo gani?

Pin this thread 2022 will be a protest vote. Hizo umbwa zote ziko na uhurumbwa wanaenda home.

To be frank can that wall cost 3B.

But si nasikia as things stand now there is no other capable leader except uncle Dr DP ruto. Ama hujaskia wakisema

Considering it’s ministry of defense and NYS doing it, NO

@spear will give you specs of the impenetrable invisible forcefield.
Ask him nicely.

Kuna watu wanajipenda kama minyoo, wanaiba pesa za umma just like that as if it does not matter. Dawa ya hawa nia Kwekwe like squad. lets dispatch them to the afterlife, si that is what we do to robbers even underage ones without subjecting them to the judicial system, same strokes should apply.

This is the most corrupt govt. on earth.

We vote them in and some we don’t but rig their way in and we just sit and watch.