Killer ex-CMC boss acquitted

[SIZE=6]DPP to appeal acquittal of ex-CMC boss in guard’s death[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4] http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2017/04/25/dpp-to-appeal-acquittal-of-ex-cmc-boss-in-guards-death_c1549656

The DPP will appeal the acquittal of former CMC director Joel Kibe in a case where he was charged with causing death by dangerous driving.

Kibe lost control of his Range Rover, registration KBQ 959 J, and rammed into a security barrier in the estate on February 2, 2016.

This led to the death of a guard Charles Wachira. Another guard Daniel Omollo was injured during the incident.

Kibe was released on Sh300,000 bond after denying charges of causing death by dangerous driving while under the influence of alcohol.

But Daniel Karuri, senior assistant DPP, has written to the court requesting for the proceedings and judgement delivered by the traffic court.

While acquitting Kibe, Traffic court magistrate Benson Nzakyo said the prosecution failed to prove its case.

Nzayko said the sentry box erected in the middle of the road was not properly secured.

“The sentry box was poorly sealed. Had it been secured by the guard, the accident would not have occurred,” he ruled.

He also concurred with Kibe, who in his defense, told the court that the barrier erected on UN Avenue was illegal.

The ex-CMC boss argued that the court had ordered the Nairobi county government to remove the barrier.

The judge also said there was no evidence tabled by the prosecution to show that Kibe was driving the vehicle at the time of the accident.

Read: CMC director kills guard in accident, video shows Kibe was drunk

Also read: CMC director Joel Kibe denies charges in guard’s death, out on Sh300,000 bond

“In the upshot, I see no fault on part of the accused in causing the accident and accordingly acquit him under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code.”

In his defense, Kibe blamed the death of the guard on the “wrongful erection” of a plastic sentry box.

He added that the accident occurred at about 1am as he tried to evade the barrier that had been lifted but “coincidentally dropped” when his car approached.

Kibe said the guards went to the scene a few minutes after he had hit the barrier.

“Your honour, the guards must have been asleep because I did not see them until I came out of my car.”

“I did not even realise someone had been knocked down. It was the guards who noticed,” he said.

Kibe further told the court that after the accident, the Nairobi government declared the barrier illegal.

He said a sitting by the county assembly adopted recommendations for its removal.

He added that the Runda residents association should be held accountable for the death of the guard.[/SIZE]

This shit would make for some good comedy, if it wasn’t for the gravity of the situation.
cc @FieldMarshal CouchP

kiulizo tu, many a times i have seen groups of people coming together and grabbing what was meant to be a public road, removing the tarmac and redoing it with cabro blocks, then erecting a barrier on the road and declaring its a private road, unapata garagaria wenye wanatumia route 11 (walking) na nduthi cant be allowed to pass through… is this even legal, what does the law say about this?

mtu akisimamisha mimi aniambie siwezi tumia hio road halafu nikasirike nimgoe meno, what would happen?

No justice in our land, God help us all. Pesa talks

utafunguliwa shepart, ikurarue

kweli kuna tofauti ya wananchi na wenye-nchi

When you pour money you can get away with anything.
What is appalling here is that the monkey lives in Runda. the association that paid for and maintains that barrier there. Its not like it was a surprise to find it there.
If they cant get him on the charge of causing death by reckless driving, then get him on manslaughter. Surely that one they can manage. If they could get Chomodely (sp) on that then they can nail Kibe too.
The guards’ families should have sued for compensation as well.

watoe pesa wapi?

Our judiciary is a big let down!

From Kibe…ama unauliza pesa za kulipa wakili?

The accident scene that fateful night. [ATTACH=full]96426[/ATTACH]

The judicial system in this country is just shit I remember that video jamaa amelewa and all he cared about was his damaged vehicle

I have told you many times that this judiciary is likely to plunge our country into chaos lakini all many of you want is to blame Uhuruto and call Raila names.

We really have a crisis, and the earlier we confront it the better.

How does a judge wake up and instruct the IEBC to extend party primaries by four days? Why not two weeks or even a month? Under what constitutional or legal provision does he do that, and to correct what injustice?

Or is it to throw his weight around like the menstrual @Deorro just because he can?

Shait.
Money talks, and bull shit walks.

Kama ile hoteli Park something pale Westie.

Very sad! A man losses his life while the killer walks scot free coz he’s rich

Thatha…

Why did the judge ignore the fact that Kibe was drunk? Even if he had been sober what is his justification for driving so fast such that he killed that man? And he knew that sentry box existed so he should give a proper reason for ramming into it. Honestly unless alikua anakimbizwo na wezi or something of that sort he must be held accountable for the death of that man.

Judiciary ni meffi. DPP should appeal, the family pia must receive compensation either from Kibe or the security guard’s employer who failed to remove the ‘illegal’ sentry box

They cant prove he was drunk coz they didnt alcoblow the fellow, or take blood samples for alcohol tests. The video would be useless in court. I doubt they even added it as evidence

Blunder hio, fuck the police!

Usually a deliberate one.