Like Windows phones obsolescence....

Samsung and LG TVs will go down that way if they don’t embrace Android TV OS… ASAP! Android TV has become something else. Hata with some insignificant Chinese brands like Vision Plus TV that have Android TV OS you get that intuitive experience sometimes inabidi you look again to ascertain “kwani which TV is this?”!!!

Sony already adopted Android OS for some time now but their TVs are as expensive as fvck. So the Chinese brands are having a field day considering that their prices are forever low. The leader and champion is TCL. TCL has even Bluetooth integrated in all of their newer smart TVs. Mi TVs Are also wonderful, but Xiaomi hasn’t put much effort into popularising the TVs outside of China and India as yet. Almost every Chinese TV brand has Android OS. Samsung and LG beat the Chinese brands by producing top notch build and sound quality, positives that are cancelled out by their high prices and, PERHAPS, their resistance to take up Android TV OS.

Hands-on: Android TV’s new Play Store is a breath of fresh air for the platform Ben Schoon - Nov. 18th 2019 11:22 am PT@NexusBen

google play store android tv redesign
Comments
The Google Play Store on Android has seen some major redesigns over the past couple of years, but the same app on Google’s Android TV platform has been stuck on the same design since 2014. Now, Google is rolling out a brand new Play Store for Android TV and we’ve got a quick look at everything it brings to the table.

Modern design w/ better discoverability
Android TV’s Play Store has functionally worked fine since its debut a few years ago, but the platform has greatly evolved in the time since, which has made the Play Store feel outdated. Worse yet, its original design was never very good at surfacing new applications and as the store grew, the problem just got worse.

With the new Play Store, Google is focusing in on both of these issues. From a design aspect, the update is great. Transparent UI elements, app “bubbles,” and color gradients make the Store feel very native to Android TV as it stands today. The Play Store now looks like an extension of the homescreen and that’s a very good thing.

The “homescreen” of the new Play Store is the most important part of this redesign. At its top, the design showcases several applications that can display videos (with no audio) in the background as you hover on them.

Below that, Google starts to split apps into different categories. These categories adjust based on your activity but will often include entertainment, fitness, sports, and more. One section I found interesting was “Free TV & movies” which highlighted apps such as Xumo and Pluto.

At the very bottom of this list, Google has categories for apps on Android TV that include entertainment, music, video players, tools, lifestyle, sports, news, productivity, fitness, and more. In my brief testing, most of these categories have plenty of relevant apps, but less common categories such as “communication” are sparse.

The design pushes itself into app listings as well which are now cleaner with bigger titles and more obvious app screenshots. The call-to-action buttons for installation and other actions are much more obvious now as well.

My one big complaint is that the description section is easily cut off and there’s no clear indication of how to expand that section. Personally, I’d prefer it if Google moved all of that information underneath the app screenshots instead of burying it beneath another button press.

Much of this also extends over to the Games section of the store with Google splitting out categories as you scroll down. This portion highlights a bit of the problem with Android TV games, though, as many of the listings are quite old.

Outside of the design, Google has also improved the functionality of this new Play Store on Android TV. One way you’ll see that is with the new “My Apps” screen. Here, Google still shows a list of apps waiting for updates and everything you’ve got installed, but there’s also a new section for apps you have installed on other devices. From what I can tell, though, this only pulls from other Android TV devices and not smartphones attached to your account.

Performance concerns
The new Play Store for Android TV is a huge improvement over what was available before with a much more information-dense design that still feels less cluttered than competitors. However, I worry about the performance aspect a bit.

While set-top boxes such as the Nvidia Shield TV or Xiaomi Mi Box shouldn’t have any issues with this new design, the Hisense TV I’ve been testing out – review coming soon – struggles with the animations while scrolling. It’s not dreadful, but this new design is clearly more resource-intensive.

Will it make a difference?
Android TV as a platform is growing and getting a ton of new apps too. However, there’s still a noticeable gap when it comes to apps. There’s a lot you can find on a Roku or even a Fire TV that simply isn’t on Android TV yet. Will this redesign Play Store make a difference? It’s hard to say. However, with the vastly improved discoverability for new apps, it will be a lot easier to find what’s hidden in the store now and also help new apps make a bigger splash on the store.

Hopefully, all of that will help encourage more developers to bring their apps to Android TV.

The new Google Play Store for Android TV should be rolling out widely to all users now. You can force the update if you’re not seeing it yet.

Nice article. But for Me I opted for a FHD PDP (NEC) with no tuner and bought an external Smart TV Box. It is easier to upgrade or get rid of a smartbox than a smart TV.

A clever hack. Way to go!

I saw Vision TV (you introduced me to this brand) has the new Huawei OS to compete with Android. I agree with you our LG’s will be obsolete sooner rather than later.

very true .but these chinese android tvs are very slow and annoying

Vision plus is just too basic. It’s only the smart part of it that’s good thanks to the Android OS. If you lay your hands on the Mi TV…! Kwanza they have a brand new line they’re calling Mi TV 5x i

I wish Hisense had also adopted the Android os early. TCL ita-overtake Hisense haraka sana. Or maybe it has already overtaken them.

Sijaget anything why lie. I thought having wifi enabled tv a.k.a simati teefee is the shit

Technology is moving too fast, a TV you bought 2 years ago is now almost obsolete when it comes to apps and Os.

Me im stuck on operating it the old fashioned way using a comp upgraded with a 2560 graphics card. Im set for the next 5 years or so

The OEMs should not let Google’s android dominate the OS for TVs.
We’ve seen how America is abusing its dominant tech position and without the Chinese on board, hii android TV OS hakuna mahali inaenda.

Ebu niambie straight up. Niko na tv ya grundig(fossils know the brand:D) with wifi connectivity ambayo nilinunua 2012. Naeza surf,buy online,watch ngwati na voip. What i’m i missing?

Format za movie zinatokea wont work on ur usb port. We are headed to 4k movies, and they are seriously compressed. Hiyo ya 2012 nashuku inaeza cheza mkv format which is being phased out

Utashangaa. Pitia pale electronics house luthuli uone tv zinaletwa sahii 46 inches and bigger, 95% ni android.

Achana na peasants wa 32inches hata hawana net ya kuoperate and upgrade android, huko ndio chinese brands zinashikilia.

I use LG’s WebOS and I find it butter smooth.

TCL na Skyworth na smaller brands kama Vision Plus wanawakilisha Android vibaiya sana.

Mkv naona itabaki tu. Hata HEVC files nyingi huwa mkv sio mp4. Labda mp4 iwe phased out but it’s a very common format /container.

So was Windows phones smooth not very long ago! Didn’t you once get in a dilemma whether to buy a Microsoft Lumia 950xl or a Samsung S 6 Edge as recently as 2016?

Ishawaovertake kitamboo. Major sites siku izi inareview tu kina TCL no Hisense

TV ya 2016 pekee haichezi HEVC. Na ndo hii 10 bit movies HDR10 na HDR10+ ishaanza kushika