Nairobi Outskirts

We know Nairobi is sort of becoming a sprawl, Kiserian, Rongai, Utawala, etc. I wanted to know your estimation of human traffic in these areas for a business - say an estate supermarket, a salon, a pub, etc. You know the estate businesses. How many people do they serve in a day, on average? Just how profitable are these businesses?and what is your opinion or insight on the “Nairobi estate economy?”

Thankie!!

You won’t get such an answer here, hapa lazima uingie ground ufanye upelelezi.

Okay nimefanya but nataka kucompare my conclusion na za watu wengine I see if I’m off or not.

Typical armchair researcher/investor. Get off that couch and do some actual groundwork.

Leta conclusion zako kwanza tuzichambue

This is completely opposite to the intent of the thread.

I have concluded months of observation, research etc. But I also want to incorporate the findings of others

No its not. You are attempting to catch a fish without bait. Give us your data first, then we can tell you how right or wrong it is. Mkono mtupu haulambwi madam

What were your findings from that research??? Ama hutaki kusema. You only like receiving but not giving…tells a lot about you

@girlciki93 let me educate you on how to get information from volunteers. Don’t ask questions directly. Just post your findings, and if something is off, people will rush to correct you. People are usually more helpful when you provide real figures, than when you ask direct questions. Direct questions sound like giving them homework. Nobody is interested in answering direct questions when you can’t prove any effort on your part. Consider two threads:

1. How much does a kinyozi/barber shop earn in an estate?
  2. I think of opening a kinyozi in Eastland’s and make 10k per day.
    Which of those threads do you think will generate reactions/honest answers???The second one obviously, because people will rush to correct and give experiences in that line of work, voluntarily. My point: learn better strategies of fishing for information

hapa mtu quandom umebinja point kama singo matha

If you are thinking a supermarket, consider Kahawa West, very populous and no big supermarket.
Kinyozis arent doing very very well.
Female beauty parlours are doing extremely well. Invest in one and dependng with the population, you can even be making profits of 5k daily

Lol I have them written down. I’m willing to share as part of a discussion. That’s why the thread calls for those who may have similar insight we talk things

Why are you expending so much Energy not to help?

Talkers, Don’t pour cold water on her enquiry. Correct where needed or let be. As you do your research madam, remember security is of utmost importance. Have you thought of the Syokimau area. There’s a bulgingliterally, middle class sprouting there and the area is quite safe.

Thanks

I was thinking lower middle class spending/income so to speak. According to KNBS this is around 25k - 99k per month. Can estates where people of this income bracket live have traffic of 100 customers a day on average at the right location? Is that too ambitious even for frequently purchased commodity?

@girlciki93 as you can see from this comment, he didn’t even realize you aren’t asking about kinyozis (you haven’t disclosed anyway). He also doesn’t understand that my comment was just an example. But alas! He is already providing important information about vinyozis and beauty parlor s to help. Enough said.

Kumbe ni wewe unamfuata kwa kila thread.

Thanks

Yeah I’m most open to the outskirts neighborhoods because of security. I was aiming at traffic of 100 people per day, I think it’s plausible for frequently purchased stuff but it also seems to be an ambitious average for those areas. They dont have as high a population density as the traditional Nairobi estates (which are less safe though)

Imagine. Just teaching her a thing or two about getting information. In an alternate reality, I am in espionage. Information is my business. To steal or protect it. Doesn’t hurt sharing some knowledge. If I wanted to rob your house, what would I do:
a) Ask you about your home’s security information? or
b) Accuse you of having bad locks?

The first question will put you on your guard and we will have a very shortlived conversation. The second angle will get you spilling all your security information to justify yourself. In minutes you will be explaining about your watchman’s shifts and CCTV camera positions without putting you on guard.