Petrol heads come here.

Recently, i’ve acquired a[SIZE=5] Nissan X-Trail GT 4WD AT 2.0 (2006)[/SIZE], which i like because i do upcountry roads often. However good the car is, i’ve realized its fuel consumption is a bit high (10km/l approx). The consumption varies when i engage or disengage the O/D switch. Can someone explain to me the impact of overdrive both in town running as well as long distance. It’s my first time to have a Nissan btw so i know nothing much about them. Thanks.

The only advice I see around here concerning Nissan is ‘poor resale value’. Ngojea tu hapo watokee.

10km/l for an xtrail GT should be normal man, kwani you want the consumption of a passo on an Xtrail GT. which 2 ltr engine does it have, the QR or SR

Well this is interesting but thanks for the observation but am not complaining really. As i said, i know nothing much about Nissans. About the QR and SR i have to confirm. So what about the overdrive? When should i use it for better performance?

Turbo diesel or petrol engine?

about the overdrive never really got the gist of it. I am also here to learn…

[U][B]

[/B]
Petrol[/U]

Clean out your tank, then run a full tank of high octane fuel. V Power. Then compare the mileage you get per litre with UX fuel.

Ctrl C + Ctrl V - Wikipedia
“Generally speaking, overdrive is the highest gear in the transmission. Overdrive allows the engine to operate at a lower RPM for a given road speed. This allows the vehicle to achieve better fuel efficiency, and often quieter operation on the highway”.

My 2litre does 7km/litre.
But fuck it.that v6 is to sweet not to step on it

Weh, when i thought mine was ‘getting slices off my wallet’ then i see this. What do you say about @Riddim statement? Any experience with that?

Wueeh, that’s heavy for a 2.0.
I get almost 5km on a 5.7lt and even more on highways.

It has a modified exhaust that tempts you to go hard on the accelerator.though the wife does 12kp/l mimi sina hiyo discipline ya slow accelerating.

Mine is a sport version so it doesn’t have the OD setting.my guess is that fuel economy was the last thing on their mind

Ati kii? Ama ni Tata?

Hi @Stifler007

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
Theriously, you are just amazing, yaani wewe, hupitwi, hukosi na hauchelewi daah da!(h3)

Zii.
Ni nyang’au ingine mzee ya kuvuruta TATA.

Gari ndogo saa zingine ni poa,I managed to drive from Westland’s to almost Kabarak and back for only Ksh 1800 ,1.3 litre ya YOM 1998.
No grandma driving tactics were involved :slight_smile:

I drive the 2016 model, don’t know if this applies to the older models, driving at high speeds for long distances with the OD off reduces fuel economy.