Self-taught dev vs Andela.

I’m currently learning web development on Freecodecamp starting with the basics such as HTML, CSS, Javascript and honestly, it is so overwhelming because I feel like there is so much to learn like Bootstrap, Sass, Jquery, Redux, React and it is almost impossible to grasp all of them as a self-taught dev. I am currently considering joining Andela to become a full-stack dev with their guidance.

I’d appreciate if any self-taught dev around these streets and anyone with previous experience in Andela or even currently working there gave me advice on how to go about this dilemma. Thanks in advance.

Have they called you for an interview or something of the sort?

When you are interviewed what happens?

@retired virgin kimbia hapa.

You need to narrow down your focus…javascript, bootstrap, jquery are all the same. As long as you teach yourself the basic principles of programming utakuwa sawa

Sikumalizanga Javascript got tough hapo kwa algorithms… I used to cram codes youTube napaste code ndio niende next challenge nikaona ni ujinga nikaswitch to something else , But basics za HTML JavaScript jQuery and Css(css jQuery na html sio ngumu) zimeniokolea sana fika uko kwa maprojects ukiweza kujenga portfolio you’ll be good to go you can build a simple website ukiwezana na hio project ya portfolio, personally hapo nilifika hapo kwa randomQuote generator… Ukiweza maliza Programme yao personally nitakuheshimu ukiweza. [Freecodecamp]…as for Andela sijui but they’ve got a kaprocess they just don’t allow anyone to work them but rewards zao ni poa sana last time I checked I guess ukiweza kumake programme yao unapewa macbook(zile laptops za apple top notch) to work with I guess utadungwa kakitu pia.

I have two friends at Andela. Unfortunately I can’t connect you without blowing my cover. Anonymity is a bitch.

I tried joining Andela early last year. Got through to the first week of bootcamp. Here was my experience:

• Go through the homestudy curriculum they send you
  • Do well in the tests they send you after application. Google if you must
  • Don’t go to the interview all dressed up. Jeans and a decent shirt/t-shirt will do
  • If you make it to bootcamp, well done. Now invest in team skills and coffee. Alot of it. Also breakup with your gfs/kungurus/mwk etc
  • For the project they send, if you don’t know something, don’t bother googling, there is no time. Just ask. Guys will help coz you earn marks when you help others
  • You will do the project sent in pure css/html and vanilla javascript. No frameworks, bootstrap, jquery, react…nothing
  • If things haven’t changed you will use Flask, a python framework
  • Understand Version Control (Github).
  • The front-end is not important. Dont worry about it if you are a poor designer. They dont care
  • Do not even think about copying any block of code you can’t explain
  • The backend(Python). This they will go through with a fine tooth comb. This is what they do during the infamous presentation
  • No matter how much you know, Andela will humble you. Make friends with the facilitators they assign you. No matter how young or ordinary they look, they are the people who determine whether you get in or not
  • Deliver in time. Actually at this point time is timeless. This is where the coffee and divorces come in
  • If you make it beyond bootcamp in one piece, you are a legend. Children should sing songs about you. You get a macbook, all meals, a chance to work with the best tech companies: Google, Github, IBM etc

Personally, I did not know VC. I ended up deleting my repo and had to start over again. Didn’t get enough time to complete the project.
I am thinking of re-applying kitu August hivi. I did learn many skills though. Mambo ikienda vizuri, to hell with them
Hope this helps. All the best if you decide to apply

You forgot to tell him if he enter he will be paid a meagre 50k(30-35k after tax) while participating in multi million projects. Slavery in all its form.Utaambiwa you are learning but actually you are being exploited.

Buda Andela is not for beginners. They market themselves as a school, but it’s not the school you are used to. It is a “finishing school” where they take already learned developers and teach them international coding practices. If online courses zinakulemea, you most likely won’t pass the Andela entrance exam

Try Moringa School

It’s easy to grasp them. Don’t skip a step just follow the curriculum in order. You cannot learn j query or redux if you dont know the basic of JavaScript. Or learn sass and bootstraps if you dont know the basic of CSS. Looking at advanced topics while just beginning is like a form one looking at form 4 topics, they wont make sense unless you do the form 1, 2 and 3 topics first

You will grasp them, they are very easy. Just follow the tutorial in the order it is and dont miss a step. Keep working everyday. Si lazima umalize kitu in a day. Hiyo freed code camp should take you 3-6 months to be done with.

Thank you for the advice

Thank you for the comprehensive information about Andela.
I’ve already applied and I’m currently going through the home curriculum. How about the Saberr personality test they send you? Is it a decider when picking a candidate?

Come on help a brother out. I’m willing to blow my cover if that is what it takes.

I appreciate the insight…
Did you completely give up on web dev ama?

Thanks. Will do that.

Nope. I’m in the process of doing the Homestudy assessment test. Hopefully, I’ll pass and get called for the interview.

self study isn’t so hard bora you stick to one language at a time and while you learn always have a side project you are working on,it might look like you are not doing anything but trust me a little progress in a day is just enough…and also avoid too many resources which confuse you and just stick to one or two and don’t be afraid to ask people who are doing the same language as they are always willing to help

Not really, I use that knowledge kwa website fulani niko nayo(html and css come in handy)…right now am caught up because of studies na side hustle fulani niko passionate about so siezi fanya Web_development but I can tell you for free hizo vitu sio za bure in this century,you’ll come across them somewhere kwanza ukiamua kufanya programming language later in life hutastruggle kuelewa code.

Plus ukimaliza Freecodecamp wanakupenga project mtafanyia non profit organisations zingine as part of their training na ukipelekea hio any emoloyer as part of your portfolio they’ll absorb you on the spot since webDev it’s all about the skills.

Freecodecamp say that those who get jobs using skills zao ata hawamalizangi programme that’s how good they’re, as long as you don’t copy paste code uko sawa, plus wako na community husaidia mtu through the various challenges not to mention youTube pia.