Towns on the east of Nairobi

I have always noted that towns in the Central province, Eastern of Kenya are stagnated in the same state for many years…they are not vibrant and seem not to be expanding as fast… Nyeri, Embu, Meru, Karatina, Nanyuki,Muranga … none of these can be compared to Nakuru, Eldoret or Kisumu.

What is the problem?

It is true for all with the exception being Meru. I think the reason is because they lack cosmopolitan feel

mungiki

Wewe hukuona nanyuki in 08 compared to now that town has grown exponentially!! Naro moru ndo haikui sababu kifaki literally owns the whole land on one side of the road so hio hata na dawa haikui unless auze

Infrastructure linked to other countries, cultural diversity brought about by transit travellers…are some of the factors…

Take Nyeri for instance. Most of the people there are living on ancestral land. Over the years, the farms have become too small for any meaningful production due to oversubdivision. The ones who got a little cash to buy land have resettled elsewhere in Nyandarua and Nakuru counties. You go to places like Nyahururu, most people are ex-nyeri. When they are traveling back to visit their families who they left in Nyeri, they say we are going to “ugikuyu-ini.” I found that fascinating.

Another thing about Nyeri. I was shocked to learn recently that my hubby’s shosh earns only 400kshs per month from her 5 acre tea farm in nyeri. No wonder there’s so much poverty. Why won’t they uproot those silly tea bushes and plant something that actually brings in money?

As for Murang’a, the situation is sad but mostly weird and creepy. They are mentally stuck on cultural bs, that’s what holds them back. But upper Murang’a, areas like Kangema are fairly advanced.

4 acre 400 bob, hapo umeongeza chumvi, unless it was a one off drought month

Honest…ok she’s old now and hires people to do the pruning but even after deducting labor, she shouldn’t be left with so little.

Here is one photo, the farm is much bigger than that but the other photos include her house so I won’t include them. I said 5 acres earlier but it looks bigger than that. 400 bob per month, not worth it. The bonuses help but still not worth the effort.

[ATTACH=full]218004[/ATTACH]

Further down the river, gorgeous and serene landscape.
[ATTACH=full]218005[/ATTACH]

What is your definition of advanced overpopulated and/or congested most of the towns youve said only seem advaned due to the population dividend but it doesnt really translate to welfare of citizens

This is a reasonable explanation… also noted is also in Nairobi areas, towards mombasa rd to Kite, Athi river…very vibrant… towards waiyaki way… very slow progress

Hizo story za shamba ya kibaki ni upuzi. The town could still grow in the other directions of it was to grow.

Vibrant… business activity… Eldoret and Nakuru are being considered for city status… no one can even imagine the same for the towns i have mentioned

Watoto wake watauza mzae akishanyuria.

Sababu all the cities/towns you know of are developed on side of the road while the other completely a bush/ranch ! I like your reasoning

400 KGS ama 400 shillings .
400 Kshs would roughly translate to 8 Kgs for a whole month. This is too low unless anaibiwa Sana Na her workers .

400 hapana.

Embu is more cosmopolitan than , Kisumu, Kakamega and Eldoret.

Dusty, congested town. Natives have funny names kama Protacio, Gashwin etc etc.

[COLOR=rgb(97, 189, 109)]Gentrification

:D:D:D… but some areas are not dusty …