Why Some Nations Get Rich

I personally think that the main reason countries like Kenya are poor is because we have terrible policies and morons in parliament.

I have been studying how a nation like U.A.E operates and I was amazed. It is among the wealthiest nations on earth and not just because of oil.

Oil contributes 30% of the country’s GDP compared to Saudi Arabia that derives over 50% of its GDP from oil. Oil contributes 60% of Qatar’s GDP.

Unlike its Middle Eastern neighbors, it is less reliant on oil and gas but still among the wealthiest nations.

How do they do it?? Their policies are so well-thought out that wealth just flows to their nation.

Examples. It is almost impossible to become an Emirati. The only direct way of becoming one is being a woman and getting married to an Emirati man. "A foreign woman married to an Emirati national may acquire citizenship provided that the marriage lasts for at least seven years with the condition of having at least one child, or ten years in the absence of children. " The UAE does not recognize dual citizenship so she has to revoke her citizenship.

It doesn’t work the other way round. A man cannot get Emirati citizenship for marrying an Emirati woman.

Basically, they prevent riff raffs and hoes from becoming citizens and then give citizens unimaginable privileges. "The government benefits that Emiratis have long enjoyed would be unthinkable in most of the world: Tax-free income, free high-quality health care, subsidized fuel, generous government-funded retirement plans, access to land to build homes with interest-free loans and free higher education, even when pursued abroad. "

Where does the money come from?? Everyone else who lives and works in the UAE (residents) because they don’t enjoy the privileges awarded to the Emiratis.

[SIZE=7]88.52%[/SIZE] of the population in UAE are expatriates and immigrants. 10 out of 10 people in UAE pay taxes (not income tax) but only 1 (the Emirati) enjoys the full benefits. You have 9 people working to finance the lifestyle of 1 Emirati citizen who never has to lift a finger to educate his children abroad.

I was really impressed by that system but obviously, it can’t work in Kenya for obvious reasons. U.A.E has designed a system that benefits Emiratis in every way and prevents joyriders from getting Emirati citizenship without providing any value.

It is an economic and political system that benefits Emiratis at the expense of the other 88.52% foreigners - but they don’t care because they are still better off than they would be in their home country.

Just being born as an Emirati guarantees a first world standard of life. The system works for you from day 1 at the hospital you are born in. There are 9 people working night and day in your country to make sure that you live a comfortable life.

Almost guaranteed employment for Emiratis. Nearly 90% of all Emiratis are employed by the government.

Kenya is a former african colony that lost regional relevance after independence and had to climb the perilous ladder on her own mostly depending on aid that demand huge compromises , UAE on the other hand, also a former colony, Sighed lucrative defence treaties with world powers just by simply being close to Iran

Uko na rink?

I studied their system. I’m not an expert but I have to admit that their system and laws are extremely beneficial to Emiratis.

Those Arabs are literally running a modern-day plantation where each citizen has 9 slaves.

You should check out the infamous kafala system too. I think what you’ve described is the kafala system on grand scale.

If you are born an Emirati man, you are guaranteed of a free job by the government, retirement benefits, free healthcare, free education for all your children, a house, many loans and grants etc.

Heck, huko hata sidhani kuna MGTOW bullshiett. The government funds your marriage with $20k , and discourages your women from marrying outsiders while encouraging foreign women to get married to Emirati men for citizenship. If akina @Kodiaga and @Mimi Huwa Namwaga Ndanii were Emiratis wangekuwa walishaoa kitambo thanks to those policies and they would be busy working in some ministry :smiley:

religion and culture plays a big role. Mimi kama bado ningekua naenda church sahii ningekua naimbia mtoto lullaby alale. Than God I escaped that trap

Arabs are professional slave drivers. all other races have suffered in their hands thats why they hide in the sand. slave driving occupies most of their brain leaving little space for everything else. hii watu ni kupe sana. lakini its a matter of time.

Not exactly,up until 2010 most adult emiratis did not finish education but ended up running their super rich fathers’ businesses,which is still the norm till today.They didnt emphasize in education until indians saturated uae with international schools that they built unis . The ones getting jobs are from marginalized states and areas,sharjah,al ain the desert dwellers . They do mundane jobs like supervising cleaners in a mall,meter readers,road assist officers,‘airport officials’. But one things for sure,they get 40% extra pay and yes, only when you are ready to marry and cant afford it,wanakulipia wedding and get you a free house.

You were impressed because an emirati has 9 slaves working to feed him? Slaves from Kenya, Bangladesh, India , Sri Lanka and Philippines?

The 9 slaves :

1970s :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1opQlSRyni8

2000s :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXqHLFngobw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQscte0Ai2M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMh-vlQwrmU

Upus… Norway too is full of oil, a liberal democracy and better positioned to handle the transition from oil.

Hizi Arab countries unasifu especially Saudi Arabia Kuwait and Abu Dhabi will be hit by an economic shock of a lifetime.

Hata mkubwa wao anajua but he’ll be long gone

[MEDIA=twitter]1382763385540988928[/MEDIA]

Heniway, to understand why some nations are rich and others poor, I highly recommend this book

[ATTACH=full]412925[/ATTACH]

Before we read anything we have to find out who the author is na huyu ni progressive ile mbaya. Rafiki ya AOC : :D:D

[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]In a 2019 interview with Der Spiegel, Daron Acemoglu stated that he sees similarities between Trump and the Republican Party and the Nazis: “Surely, Trump and the Republicans are no Nazis. But they are exploiting the same political sentiment.” He argues that Trump “poses a great risk to U.S. democracy” because he is “looking for a new order with elements of anti-liberalism, misinformation and a lax attitude to corruption. If he is re-elected next year, it will be the beginning of the end of American democracy.”

[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][SIZE=7]CONCLUSION : Hio kitabu siwezi soma!!! Issano.[/SIZE]

[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][SIZE=7][ATTACH=full]412926[/ATTACH][/SIZE]

Hii kitabu nitasoma.

@baba panay the author of that book ni mtu wa mdomo kama Miguna. Ni progressive activist, they talk the talk but when offered the job they run away. Remember Miguna was offered the opportunity to become Nairobi Deputy Governor but he ran away.

Remember Githongo also ran away

This author is Turkish. He was offered a job by Erdogan to bring changes to Turkey and he also ran away. Activists hupenda tu kuandika vitabu :

[COLOR=rgb(184, 49, 47)]In March 2011, Acemoglu was offered by Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu to become Turkey’s permanent representative to the OECD in Paris, which he rejected in order to continue his academic career.[96][97][98][99] It was seen in Armenia as a politically motivated move to earn “political dividends” on Armenian issues.[100]

Acemoglu opined that the Republic of Turkey, formed in 1923 by Atatürk, “is very continuous with the Ottoman Empire.” Although the shift from empire to republic brought some positive changes, he argues, the model was largely maintained by the reformers who took power, citing a persistent concentration of power and economic activity.[101] He suggests that the Republican period has been characterized by an unwillingness to accept ethnic minorities.[102] In 2014, Acemoglu condemned the widespread anti-Armenian rhetoric in Turkish textbooks, and demanded that the books be pulled from circulation.[10]

Acemoglu has criticized Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and his government for its authoritarian rule.[103] In a 2013 op-ed in The New York Times, following the crackdown of Gezi Park protests, Acemoglu wrote that “Even before the brutal suppression of the demonstrations, the belief that Turkey was on its way to becoming a mature democracy — a role model for the rest of the Middle East — had already become untenable.”[104] In a May 2014 op-ed in Foreign Affairs, Acemoglu wrote that the drift from democracy by Erdogan is lamentable, but an “almost predictable, stage of Turkey’s democratic transition.”[105] In the late 2010s, Acemoglu often criticized Turkey’s economic policies and consequently became popular with the opposition.[106]

Nations simply fail because of poor leaders who in turn create or maintain poor policies that do not encourage generation of wealth. Take for example trade. A lot of young people would be gainfully self employed if they engaged in buying and selling of various goods and services. To do that they need premises. Now, try getting premises in any town or commercial centre in this country and you will realize that vultures left the forest and came into town.
The rents are crazy, the shops are small (for the landlord to maximise on letting space) and many have that conmanship of ‘goodwill’ even in new buildings or spaces with no running businesses. To add to that you have to cough up thousands in deposit and pay rent several months in advance. The space, location and rent payable are not related. Rent is always higher. That is why you have the problem of hawkers. They cannot afford to lease space.

To counter this, county governments should strive to build capacity in building affordable business premises in their cities and towns. This is by way of building more markets with ammenities and other convenient shops like smart container shops along busy roads. This is same as what the national govt is doing by trying to build affordable housing for citizens. Leaving these entirely to private sector means that greedy landlords will always have their way to the detriment of everyone else and the economy. Your political leaders wont tell you this however as they are the greedy landlords. Instead they will tell you about giving poor you 6000 bob every month or giving fake wheelbarrow job promises to the youth. The youth only need affordable, spacious and dignified premises to conduct their small businesses.

Leo mumeamua to compare yourselves with tax havens… Issorait

They are tax havens for a reason. Good working policies that encourage production and trade

I think this is basic Arab culture. Even in Mombasa the Omani are the same, children borne of an Omani man & a Swahili/bantu woman considered Arab/Omani. But children borne of a Bantu/Swahili man & Omani woman are considered Swahili not Arab

This is far more useful than that
[ATTACH=full]413303[/ATTACH]