flammable gas...

Hehe my surprise is informed by my Geography background. Geologically speaking methane gas is more likely to occur around the Kenyan coastal areas and not Kaiado, but then again tutajua hatujui

But kajiado is in the same Rift Valley geological zone as Turkana where other hydrocarbons have been found.

Crossing my fingers kabisa hata ya miguu. My blotis in the area are already increasing in value. Ngoja tu, nitajenga mall no 50 after selling them. Then all the critics can also complain how I’m wasting money building more malls.

Not a good idea that was but hopefully they can turn it off or else it’ll be like one in Russia that kept burning for 3 years and they had to use a nuclear bomb to turn the blaze and supply off .

Do not be excited yet. Finding methane is one thing and finding commercially viable quantities is another.

@spear hapa umeniangusha…i was waiting for a jubilee spin to this discovery.

:eek::stuck_out_tongue:

I think methane gas is normally associated with coal… normally what causes eruptions in coal mines… Kajiado could be sitting on a huge coal deposit…

not necessarily…is produced through anaerobic decay. think biogas.

Actually its more widespread than that…but yes, coal and petroleum and any other fossil fuel extractions also produce some methane…but the biggest sources will surprise you

let him google bog/marsh gas…

That is the process… I was just saying that occurrence of underground methane deposits is normally associated with the decay of coal and it is not a bad thing. Methane is a major component of natural gas and I just hope that the deposits are viable. However even if gas deposits are not viable there is a high probability that there are coal deposits lying not far from the surface which can be exploited commercially.

That one only applies where the government has done all the work in discovering the natural resources, but in a case as above the owner was the part in discovering it the compensation is very different.

Coal converts to oil in 1000 years. Anyway if its Methane that alone is $$$$. However it will need further exploration as Methane also points to potential Natural gas deposit or oil.

Lakini kenya ni jokes ama nini?.by now ministry of mining (kuna kitu kama hio kweli) should have sent specialists to the site wajue hio ni gas gani, it could even be harmful

Most natural gases are not harmful… They just become dangerous when man alters them chemically.

I was referred to DRC where natural gas had killed almost the entire village

Kajiado iko PRK. The new Dubai. Can’t wait. Rumors of Oil in Makueni too and natural gas and confirmed coal in Kitui and Lamu.

Nkedianye will be our Energy/Mining minister. Can’t wait to start drafting the revenue sharing agreements. Central Republicans shouldn’t worry,we’ll give them loans that they’ve a high appetite for in exchange for nduma,sex and avocados in case Nyanza can’t produce enough. PRK will be an economic powerhouse I tell you. We will run the black continent.

You have a very valid point, maybe if it was CS Matiangi’s ministry, officers would be on the ground

i don’t know what informaton you and @Fala 12 are ranting on. who said the government has not acted on the discovery?