People Were Right... Fibre will kill DSTV

I especially recall how they dismissed this offhand. Then, I wondered who their advisers and strategists were.

Back in the early 2000s, some research carried out showed that majority of people watched about 7 channels religiously. This is what informed ODTv’s bouquet of 9-channels. ODTv was Kenya’s first DVB-T broadcaster.

Like Darwin put it everything evolves and that is the way of the universe. We have lived to see Uber transform ground transport and I hope SGR will transform ground-rail transport. Progress always does that

I think it comes down to the management. You see in africa Professors teach one to be sure and risk averse. Hata hapa kenya we can talk of the same from even our bankers. RISK is only read in boardrooms never to be Practiced.

also at work places risk is mostly punished when it goes wrong and rarely rewarded in the same scale when it succeeds. The reward may just be a holiday voucher… not a kick ass monetary package

True. This is the biggest difference between us and the developed world.

Need to buy an android box someone please advice on the best model and where to get locally.
I am a football fanatic and occasional movie fan the rest ni details!
@Luther12 wewe ndio naonanga ukiwa knowledgeable hii sector.

Last paid for Multichoice subscription in 2011. To date, I still receive calls and promotional texts.

I’m assuming you want to use Kodi. Ensure that you purchase one that’s got latest Android version. Kodi version 17(Krypton) runs on Lollipop and above.

Sad to have invested in equipment that quickly became obsolete.

Thanks any leads on where I can buy one locally preferably one that’s “fully loaded”.

@Electronics4u

Just search ‘Android box’ from your Facebook page. There are hundreds of resellers in Nairobi.

Thanks for that lakini I would prefer a physical shop also what’s the price range and which is a good model?

I do not have any preferred supplier at the moment. But if you would like to import one yourself please visit these two sites that have excellent descriptions on on specs of each and every box:

1. Www.aliexpress.com
  2. Www.Chinavasion.com
    All the best.

Adapt or perish, pure and simple.

DSThief hata hakukuwangi na kulazimishwa…unaingianga net unaona local tv (kenya moja) ha tvmc…na youtube videos kibao including documentaries…hiyo mwezi hata hautumii iyo dsthief

E.g:D:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg9VFSy-x8o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoPI1X3Eooc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10tkbP-TDCs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zc4UKs4ygNM

Any ideas on how to to get sky tv packages…

No

Dstv’s strategy of market segmentation is the cancer that shall eventually lead to their demise. They have adamantly refused to extend their premium products to the hoi polloi thus leaving the masses with little choice but to find alternatives i.e DSTV mwitu or online streaming. Actually, it is my considered opinion that the uptake of home internet (read fiber) is somewhat directly related to DSTV’s inability to accommodate the mwananchi.
Dstv’s claim that offering pay per view will hurt them economically is hogwash. Let’s interrogate the figures shall we; Dstv has around 200,000 active customers. In a country of 40M, that is 0.5% market penetration! Yaani these buggers would rather ignore 99.5% of Kenyans because their product is not for everyone.
A cursory glance at Kenya’s corporate sector will tell you one thing. Companies that perform well are those that offer their products to the masses eg Safaricom, Sportpesa, EABL, Kenyatalk:D, BAT, Ekwete e.t.c. Our market is not large enough to be segmented…at least not if you wish to buy rights to the EPL and offset the cost by onboarding customers.
Wacha sisi peasants tungangane na Kodi.