The ICJ has today delivered its Judgment in the case (Somalia v. Kenya)

Somalia has been a broken state for like 30yrs. Other areas like puntland have broken off and created their own country. Kenya and Ethiopia also have a pact against Somalia after Somalis claimned NE province and a region in Ethiopia.

Believe you me, even if Somalia became a state today, it will take them far more than 30yrs to pass Kenya. Secondly Kenya already has the upper hand in Somalia with our troops there and the support of the AU and USA.

Also, no treaty/ruling lasts hundreds of years given the dynamic nature of the way nations interact. For example, the treaty of Versailes lasted only 20yrs. Even today treaties between Russia and USA on arms control signed in the soviet days are being broken

Another example is the US invasion of Panama was condemned by world bodies but what did they do? Nothing.

The important thing for Kenya right now is diplomatic support, keeping its navy effective, and making sure that Somalia can never become a threat in future

Court rulings are only effective within countries whereby a system has been set up to enforce these among its civilians. But when dealing with things between countries, it becomes tricky and its more of might makes right and justice be damned

Somali won’t be broken forever. That ruling is binding for life. The just-won area by Somalia now has zero economic value to Kenya. Somalia has no incentive to arbitrate the matter here henceforth. It will be like Tanzania engaging with Kenya on Mt Kilimanjaro. It’s now a foregone issue. History. Yeah we can chest thump about nationalism, but we lost the dispute permanently.

Twende vita tuchape hii watu

Bro, once a nation breaks up, getting it back together is extremely difficult. Look at the Austro-Hungarian empire of the 1800s or even the Soviet Union (Superpower btw). Look at Yugoslavia. Look at Czechoslavakia.

As I said, nothing is forever. Even we as a species have evolved and are probably still evolving

It will have immediate economic value in terms of fishing and future economic value in terms of oil

This is completely different. Both sides accept that border and there has never been a dispute about it

wewe huelewi,… gatheca atadeal na hii mambo… usikaone hivi hivi kamwana

We knew we would lose…

Gatheca is probably part of the crew that sold it off. And he has less than 250 days in office. Ata rusha rpg huko ndani from his retirement bed in Gatundu?

Wewe huelewi. The land is gone. Imeenda hivyo tuu. Turkey was and is already prospecting for natural gas In the area. They have been in those waters for at least 5 years. In fact Kenya brought this up in court. They didn’t do anything then when the case was active. Trust me they won’t do anything henceforth.

Uhunye anafanya kazi buana

How that part in dispute beneficial to.me?

Lets wait and see. But I will tell you Kenya did not pull out of the ICC and disregard its rulling only to allow Turkey to prospect in the area with profits going to Somalia

There’s nothing to wait and see brazza. Na si kwa ubaya. Kenya doesn’t have the might ( economic) or willpower to enforce anything. The Somali clans already auctioned off the blocks to Chinese and Turkish companies. If you check maritime radar, you will see them operating in the area. They have been doing so for at least a decade. Who enforced anything then? We have to sometimes separate what we want to happen, vs what’s happening ( reality).

What kind of a court that makes a judgement and denies parties a chance of appealing, this is a political court. It will be dealt with politically as well

The case is a done deal, the issue of war is not a smart chess move in this instance,its like killing a rat with a hammer while you can set traps for it.If Kenyan diplomats and defence guys were smart they would use the political routes and influence to fight this cold confluct since that country is an openly hostile state outside of this case.Too bad we have a spoilt brat for a president who thinks Kenya revolves around his family and is always up to no good.Let them celebrate their small victory ,but Kenya should now be strategic in expanding it’s national interests to be a regional power in East and Central Africa, ignore small slideshows from insignificant states and focus on bigger issues.Hopefully we will get a more balanced individual to be president next year.

Simiyu, so we meet again!

Anyway, precedence is on our side. Israel has been occupying golan for decades mpaka they are turning it their own bit by bit.

Russia had been occupying kuril islands till they are now Russian.

Once we say we don’t recognize korti bandia, our decision also has weight. Those waters are ours for as long as we please. We can continue their use uninterrupted.

All serious nations know korti bandia when they see one. Ftom icc to icj.

How did we deal with Migingo Island politically ? Si ata hiyo tulinyanganywa. ICJ is a court whose proceedings we signed to. You need to Google cases they have resolved. There are very many. In the hundreds. You will find some even England vs Ireland. Their rulings are final because appealing means there’s new set of information that was not available at the beginning of a trial. In that case, a new trial can be initiated. They rule on the facts presented. It’s an abuse of appeal process in the Kenyan judicial system and it’s probably the basis of your argument.

Well Israel didn’t agree to a court trial. Neither did Russia. In those instances, ICJ couldn’t initiate a hearing. They don’t have jurisdiction until both parties sign to initiate one. That’s where Kenya fucked up. They shouldn’t have agreed to a court process. Kenyan officials were paid to do so by Somali pirates.
Merits of the case mean Somali is right as per UN charters on definition of boundaries. Kenya really had no case to begin with. That Somali Minister they signed the agreement with probably relocated to Oslo with the money he was paid at Hotel Intercontinental.
Most Kenyans are arguing but don’t understand the underlying issues of the case. Kenya was scammed by its own officials.

Bottom line is Kenya lost. But Kenya didn’t lose today. Kenya lost long time ago where competent people were shunned by society while favoring incompetent fools because they are born of “favored” families or can come up with the bribes.

Hii ni kionjo tu. True costs of Uhuruto mismanagement are yet to come due. If you’re under 35 of able body and mind, find another country to move to.

It’s what I am trying to reiterate. When you have a weak case, you stay out of courts. Kenya was sabotaged by incompetent fools, Amos Wako , and the rest. They received cash to trial in court. Do you know that the disputed area hadn’t been claimed by Kenya before 1979.

There are so many disputed areas accross the world. I guess this will continue being one of them. Whi wants europeans drawing boundaries in a court in the 21st century. Its like 1890s again.