Why Are Luo Nyanza Counties So Poor?

Anyway this is a very retarded thread since wherever I go in Kenya poverty is staring back at me everywhere. It’s like a group of peasants laughing at who is the poorest amongst them all.
Less than 10% of residents in any given county including those you claim to be rich in Kenya are above the poverty level. So advancing such theories that we are richer than kambas just because you happened to have landed a parastatal job due to mostly nepotism /cronysm and now drive a vitz only serves the sole goal of the political elite who want to forever remain rich at the expense of the common mwananchi.
I once came across a rusty toothed handcart puller at muthurwa shouting “Kenya ni yetu na sisi ndio wadosi!” to another seemingly struggling mandazi cook but apparently from another tribe and shook my head in disbelief on how the handcart boy was blinded to the point that he has forgotten that his fate is more tied to the mandazi Cook than the rich oligarchs from his tribe he is referring to.
He probably lives in the same slum with the guy from the other tribe, their kids probably go to the same school and they also will seep cham or keg later on at the same den. Moreover, their kids will probably after completing basic education or dropping out due to fees or unwanted pregnancies meet one day and the handcart pullers kid who now sells fresh meet at Sabina joy shout at another hooker from western Kenya “Kenya ni yetu na sisi na mama ngina ndio kusema kipesa hapa kenya”! As this is what she heard her dad continuously mock her luo neighbours while growing up…:D:rolleyes::rolleyes:SMH
Why don’t we come up with ideas like why is lake Victoria with such a huge water body besides it does not have a vibrant ship building industry? Or water sport tourism? Or large scale cash crop irrigation? Or why can’t we have a good fabrication industry there? Or why can’t we have food processing factories in rich Nyandarua owned by the locals? It may be all talk but someone will notice
Hii ingine ni ujinga ya ukabila handed over to us by our political overlords and propagated to our offspring by parents. Mental poison, worse than drugs

Malenge wacha sideshows, umama and deflections off the main topic . clearly @Poison has explained himself in the essay and the point is clear, sasa wewe since you know he is talking the truth umeamua to concentrate on the title and evade the facts. just jibu swali ameuliza in the excerpt why are luo nyanza counties poor compared to other counties ? usiseme mambo ya colonialists left central with investments , Kisii is doing better and its in nyanza.

Malenge just be civil and sober and answer the question , its not tribal . kama its true your tribemen are spendthrift and never think about the future and investing at home kubali and give ways in which your progeny can improve on that .

si kuanza kulia na title ni kama its a paragraph, yet we all know a title is just to give direction .

SO JALUO JINGA @Malenge @Agwambo

[SIZE=7]Why Are Luo Nyanza Counties So Poor?[/SIZE]

@Poison gave you GDP figures. I have highlighted that paragraph again because unapretend hukuiona.

[B]On GDP Per Capita, Kisumu County ranks at 13th, is eclipsed by nondescript counties such as Nyandarua and Meru counties, (based on GDP PPP from IMF records). On GDP Per Capita, Kisumu County ranks at 13th, while Migori is 42nd.

List of counties of Kenya by GDP - Wikipedia [/B]

This is the right point.
Very many years of opposition politics, neglect by governments of the day and the flight of both human skill and capital to urban areas has stagnated Luo nyanza economically.
Its bright minds hardly invested home and since they were in opposition, getting development and goodwill out of government was an uphill task.

Times are changing though, from government projects to investment by its people to tribal diversity.

The final ingredient may be the end of the Odinga dynasty in politics.
But given that we still don’t have working systems in government, I may not be quick to point it out as an advantage.

Let’s blame all our failures on da devil white man. it’s been 58 years since we gained independence from the go each region has exercised it’s democratic right.I don’t get why you made the assumption majority of the watu wa mt kenya were not collaborators had to work on the plantations and were detained and most had their lands taken.

a county like meru had no settlers or real white presence. even counties with white settlers like kiambu left people landless as the land was just returned to a few.

he needs a scapegoat the white devil will do :smiley:

Bro wakikuyu wengi and other tribes pia wanaishi Kwa slums ,in fact Nairobi is 70 percent mud and concrete slums.In fact the people who don’t predominantly live in slums are the kalenjin and that’s because they have huge productive land.

Why are you f@ckers turning the thread into a tribal dick measuring contest. The OP posed a very nice question that should have got us thinking, but mnadigress na unnecessary side shows.

Anyways, having worked in nearly all the sub-counties in Nyanza, people from these regions seem to have too much time in their hands, they are idle. Perhaps this has to do with holding on to archaic cultural practices such as it being the role of women to fend for the families and so on. I recall a time where we gave thousands of households unconditional cash transfers, the findings weren’t so great as there were lots of confounding in the study. However, we made a few observations. In majority of the households where the males received the UCTs, the household broke with the man either eloping with the cash or the man brings in a new wife and so on. for the never married households, the single men or women moved to Nairobi to look for work. Additionally, instead of investing the funds to increase the pool of funding most people seemed to focus on building simple houses with all the money and it is not that they did not have a place to live. While this may not be generalized to the entire population in Nyanza, it gives us a glimpse of the mentality.

Where did you fish that 70% from? I will have you know that most slums of Ungem, Kawangware , Kibera etc are populated by luos and luhyas. Quote figures you can defend.

This thread is tribalistic but you’re trying to sugarcoat it.

Kenya has poverty everywhere. Have you gone to Kilifi and the coastal regions? There are mud houses even kwa town.

What has a few jokes about a few luos who are spending their money lavishly got to do with the development of a region.

Here is an exerpt of the bottom counties 6 based on GDP per Capita.
Migori County has only outranked Kilifi, Wajir, West Pokot, Turkana, and Mandera.

[ATTACH=full]408286[/ATTACH].

All of these are Arid Regions, with natural disadvantages.
Migori County on the other hand, borders Lake Victoria, and has an important border post.

[ATTACH=full]408287[/ATTACH]

Mujinga, what did the white man leave there after 59 years? Yes, they are still there because several ranches are white-owned in these regions. The white man is still in this country bwana. Mzungu never left.

Uhuru may not be perfect but he has taught future presidents the value of handshake. Imagine if his predecessors had engaged in handshake instead of wiping out opponents and crushing whole tribes and wasting years of development.

The people of Kilifi did not get the start that Luos had.

Remember that Governor Macdonald was ready to hand over power to Luos but Jaramogi said no, he doesn’t want the seat.

When the British want to hand over power to you, one can tell how close the Luos and the British were.

The people of Kilifi were marginalized Kenya B whereas the Luo were the favourites Kenya A.

And Macdonald warned Jaramogi that if he lets the power to fall into the hands of the wretched Okuyu Mau Mau he will regret for the rest of his life. Jaramogi said that he doesn’t care!

He even called Jomo Kenyatta a “second god” of the African people :

THE STANDARD - USER LOGIN

So you cannot compare Luos to any other tribes. Luos had a very fantastic start in life by virtue of being collaborators.

Wueh. Hapa ni poverty olympics. Kenya is poor except for a select minority. The rest are very close to poverty. Anyway sugarcane farmers should plant other crops. Hata in Central people uprooted coffee trees to plant other crops and the rest of them built apartments. When life gives you lemon you make lemonade.

[SIZE=7]blame jomo kenyatta vs ogonga odinga feud…[/SIZE]

[SIZE=7]…anything else comes second…[/SIZE]

This is what a learned Luo MP is posting as his greatest achievement:
[ATTACH=full]408348[/ATTACH]

Kenya as a whole is stagnant. The loans have brought tarmac so it seems like we are moving but if you look closely, you will see that we are not

I postulated that in a certain earlier thread. Yes we have good roads and more beautiful towns but the hoi polloi have sunk further into poverty.

Proliferation of beggars and petty thieves - General - Kenya Talk