Why is Kenya weak in football?

Nimefurahi tumeshinda. The truth is we got lucky. Olunga is a marked man going forward. We still need better talent.

If we lost this Tanzanians would have had a field day, mark you we have an active “online” war with them and they couldn’t hide their disdain for us during the first half, only falling short for a virtual fist fight. This win was well deserved, will keep our noisy neighbour silent for a few hours.

we dont invest in football then 2 .corruption thats why kenya will never ga anywhere

Tribalism in player selection has been diluting quality. Every name ni “O” rejeshi. This has to change

Lack of investment in football and corruption are the biggest obstacles holding the country back. 21 year olds posing as 16 year olds, grabbing of football pitches, failure to train local coaches, stealing player allowances, treating sport like a waste of time- look at the last three CS wa Sport and so many other reasons.

We can become a great nation in football if we take the time to invest in it. But this is Kenya. Photo-ops for corrupt politicians is what matters most.

Stupid

The most stupid statement ever. Ghaseer. Why look at the negative in everything. You think the French coach gives 2 shits about tribe. Meffi

Treasury ime divert kitu 7billion 19/20 budget from sports fund hadi Healthcare na nyayo stadium haiko ready wangetumia hiyo pesa kujenga small stadiums promote grassroots football

The best athletes are usually weak academically. Most NBA players have a class 4 level of literacy.

Until sports starts paying well in Kenya somehow, we will never know if we are good in them or not. The best talents will just be urged by parents to drop the sport in favor of better careers. At least running pays well so we see our best there

Treasury don’t even have money to pay pensions.

Running is the least capital intensive sport which is why it’s the most successful sport in Kenya. All one needs is running shoes and a pair of working legs.

If one does well enough, they can switch nationalities as many times as they’re paid to or even earn scholarships to foreign universities and get out of this rat race that is Kenyan life.

Poor selection of players which is corrupt and political. And when they fail to deliver the answer is more money! Yet they are earning almost double what their uganda brothers are earning. It has been made a odm team led by raila and atwoli, is it that there is no nilote or cushite in kenya who have talent

Meffi kabisa, what is the correlation between Atwoli and Harambee Stars. Have you ever seen Atwoli in a football stadium or supporting his local team. Or does Raila select a team, then slips the note to coach Migne?

It is the truth son. They must go to other parts of Kenya and identify talent. I know it is there. France has working systems. Kenya no. Again, most managers are from the lake side. See the connection?

I have the same here. But are not ready to ask this critical question. The poor state of Kenyan football is due to entrenched tribalism. It is also there is basketball

@Jobi4 For ages you have accused kyuks of being tribal oriented in government affairs. There is some truth to it. But when we accuse the other, you become emotional and defensive. We have to balanced and fair in our judgement.

Most of you yapping here know nothing about football. The most populous nations in the world -China, India, Russia, Canada have enough resources to invest in the game. The first issue is God-given talent. In Africa, East Africans are the least talented in football. A Congolese will never win a marathon rac e as long as there are Ethiopians/Kenyans in the same race.

Wowoi, religion tena?

Those complaining about tribalism. Mention any Maasai footballer you know. Even the Ugandan team is made of mainly Acholis who are close relatives of Luos.